Serious Worry!! - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2003, 19:20   #1 (permalink)
Oversized Ben

Serious Worry!!

Well it is safe to say I have no idea what to do about my engine noise?

For those of you who don't know my troubles here is a quick outline. Please understand I am not a super mechanic (I don't pretend to be, super computer geek maybe....but that is a different story.)

My car is mildly work, having a JMM Dev 4 (so new ported head, extractors, zort, cam and rocker gear). The car is currently running 14 degrees timing and the cam is advanced 6 degrees. And I am running PULP (I would be silly not to).

The noise I have is a rattle, that occurs at 1500rpm - 1750 rmp(with out fail, no matter if I am going up hill, down hill or straight) and sounds like it is coming from the front of the engine. The best way to describe the noise would be metal on metal, clapping together.

I have check several things first off i check the valve that allows fuel fumes into the engine at low load and rpm (located over near the airbox) and it isn't that. Belts are all new.

I have dropped the car off at my mech. today for him to play with. He wondered if it was the timing chain (the car has done 180,000 kms and prob needs a new one anyways), fan clutch or one of the pullys.

If anyone else has some ideas I would be greatfull to know them.