Switches- RPM and Thermatic - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2004, 17:25   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: perth
Age: 34
Posts: 295
Switches- RPM and Thermatic

Can anyone tell me where i can get an RPM switch (to engage BBM) and a thermatic switch (to engage thermo fans). I'm in perth. Any idea what they are worth?
EAtDUST is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-05-2004, 00:50   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Ford Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 28
Posts: 5,083
Re: Switches- RPM and Thermatic

Talk to 9psi_EB, he'll be able to help you out.
psycho chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2004, 00:58   #3 (permalink)
Looking in YOUR bathroom.
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Adelaide
Age: 30
Posts: 3,287
Re: Switches- RPM and Thermatic

there is a unit which has both of these. EL ECU
__________________
Ive been described as a vault of usless random knowledge.

Ill take it as a complement i think.............
Walkinshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2004, 01:01   #4 (permalink)
Veteran Ford Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 28
Posts: 5,083
Re: Switches- RPM and Thermatic

Going by his username he can't utilise this great device.
psycho chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2004, 01:38   #5 (permalink)
Look! A flying orangutan!
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: perth
Age: 31
Posts: 3,104
Re: Switches- RPM and Thermatic

Or Jaycar, ricer HQ
__________________
Proud TQE Operator and President of SEFAG - the Society for the Elimination of Ford Automatic Gearboxes

Pacemaker headers + 2.5" exhaust
EF Fairmont interior
MP3 player
Lowered King springs
5 speed manual
EF motor

Newest mod: EF Ghia wiring loom and dash
mongrelEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2004, 02:12   #6 (permalink)
Birth, Drift, Death...
 
Rollin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Drifting Brisbane...
Age: 32
Posts: 3,039
Re: Switches- RPM and Thermatic

as mongrelEB said - you can get a rpm switch as a kit for like $30 i think, and you can get a thermo switch from repco, you just gotta find out what temps you want it to work at - go to a library, with luck they should have some gregories manuals there, look through the ones that are for 1980s/1970 front wheel drive cars, they should all have thermoswitches, just look for one with the temp you want, then go to repco and get it...
__________________
Slick, Quick and Fulliii SIK!!!
Proud TQE Operator

197.4hp at the wheels, 14.505@152.46km/h
Tuning in progress...
*CLICK TO SEE MY XR6*
I can get new Genuine Holden/Ford/Audi/Land Rover/Honda parts cheap, PM me!
Rollin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2004, 19:32   #7 (permalink)
Hanging Around
 
9psi EB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Perth
Age: 35
Posts: 1,209
Re: Switches- RPM and Thermatic

Check my site... some details of my thermo fan controllers there, and I have one RPM switch sitting here also if you are interested (im in perth too..)
Email me if you want more info
__________________
Event's Photo Gallery: gallery.mechanicalforums.com
9psi EB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2004, 19:48   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: perth
Age: 34
Posts: 295
Re: Switches- RPM and Thermatic

Can you hook up an EL ECU to a pre smartlock EA ECU though. If not how much do you want for the switch kits (9psi EB)?
EAtDUST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2004, 01:19   #9 (permalink)
Veteran Ford Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 28
Posts: 5,083
Re: Switches- RPM and Thermatic

You can, but you have to install Smartlock as well. Bit of rewiring and I don't think S1 can be done.
psycho chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 18:03.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.