Thermo Fan switch - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2004, 08:24   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 221
Question Thermo Fan switch

Hi I'm considering to soon put some EF thermofans in my EA falcon and want it to be fully automatic, so need a thermo switch.

I don't have alot of money and electrical thermoswitches are pretty expensive, so I was wondering if anyone knows of any other cars I can get a plain thermo switch off at the wreckers. Preferrably I am after one off a car that is a dual-stage sensor so either none, one or both fans can be running.

Any ideas on which cars might have one of these cheeky buggers in it?

Thanks
youngNstupid is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-03-2004, 18:01   #2 (permalink)
Two SC 61's = trouble
 
ebxr8240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Penrith,nswAus/Morrinville.NZ
Age: 61
Posts: 6,360
Re: Thermo Fan switch

I bought switch from Ford that screws into bang on thermostate housing via a relay.The switch earthed triggered realy to to switch on...

Or you can purchase the Davis Craig fan switch.You need to install thermostate through radiator hose and radiator outlet pipe... Around $80.00 @ supercheap etc..
__________________
Don't be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic!
.
Tuned & maintained by "Peppertree Perfmormance". Dart block, Scat 4340 steel crank, Custom C.P pistons.Oliver rods.. Mal Wood twin plate clutch.. Twin SC61/2's,482 rwkw/ 645 rwhp..
Passengers, myocardial infarction material..
R.I.P Possum...
ebxr8240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 18:15   #3 (permalink)
Experimental Racer#6
 
TIKFD6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Wodonga Vic
Age: 41
Posts: 8,204
Re: Thermo Fan switch

Ive had a the Davies craig Thermo switch in mine for years with no real hassles.
The Ford switch would be alot neater but.
EB Can you give us some details on the Ford one?
Was it just to suit the V8?
TIKFD6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 18:50   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
OED666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Brisbane
Age: 32
Posts: 1,512
Re: Thermo Fan switch

i have one out of a telstar... i know that i am a cooling freak, but its prolly gets a little hot before the fans come on. the gauge hits the M C [ NORMAL ] H before the fans come on, and they turn off just on the N. If i have the A/C on its constantly cool. If i am sitting in traffic i just wack on the A/C and its all good.

I would like to get one thats a little cooler. Also you need to make sure that your thermostat opens up before the switch turns the fans on. I only have a 1 stage switch so both fans come on at once, and both also turn on with the A/C.
__________________
BUILT FORD TOUGH!!!

94 ED Futura
PROUD TQE OPERATOR
13.822 @ 99.67MPH - Willowbank 05/08/2006
OED666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 20:44   #5 (permalink)
Two SC 61's = trouble
 
ebxr8240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Penrith,nswAus/Morrinville.NZ
Age: 61
Posts: 6,360
Re: Thermo Fan switch

The one in the V8 is operated by Haltech..Ecu controlled...

The XR6 is fitted on thermostate housing.I'm not sure what model this came from I got it through Fairlford in Sydney www.fairfordspares.com.au Gow St Padstow 02]9709 4777...
I notice some are fitted on lower radiator / hoce and some on top of radiator so it depends where is was fitted on original car to what temp settings are.Fans can be set up seperately on there own relay etc so if one fails atleast the other will still work hopefully...
__________________
Don't be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic!
.
Tuned & maintained by "Peppertree Perfmormance". Dart block, Scat 4340 steel crank, Custom C.P pistons.Oliver rods.. Mal Wood twin plate clutch.. Twin SC61/2's,482 rwkw/ 645 rwhp..
Passengers, myocardial infarction material..
R.I.P Possum...
ebxr8240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 20:54   #6 (permalink)
Officially Bored with 347
 
svo347's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Perth West Oz
Age: 41
Posts: 3,585
Re: Thermo Fan switch

Or better yet BPT do a beautiful proffessional wiring loom.
Go have a look on their website.
Looms only $70-80.
__________________
FORD.... "POWER TO THE PEOPLE"...

Member of the "TKTDSGM " Group..
svo347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 05:20   #7 (permalink)
Veteran Ford Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 29
Posts: 5,083
Re: Thermo Fan switch

I have an adjustable temp switch hooked up to a relay. Soon to be switched by the ECU.

I don't think the adjustable switches are that much. If you want a fixed rate, just walk into Repco and ask for one of the temp you want. 93 or 94 degrees is probably best, just after the thermostat opens.
psycho chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 05:35   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Aaaahhhuuuuppp The Pub
Age: 31
Posts: 234
Re: Thermo Fan switch

I have one of the Davies Craig ones from Super Cheap Auto, it came complete with all wiring, relay, adjustable switch, crimp terminals etc for $69. Follow the instructions and you cant go wrong, its all supplied. As for a cheaper option I know a lot of people just have a on/off switch but how annoying would that be? "Oooh, look hun, the temperature is rising, quick flick on the fans would ya!" Haha.
__________________
THE ONLY SUBSTITUTE FOR CUBIC INCHES IS FORCED INDUCTION
uteman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 07:20   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 221
Re: Thermo Fan switch

I'm guessing the Davies Craig and Repco ones are only single stage switches correct?

Another thing I need to know, I know I have to set the thermo switch higher then the thermostat, but what do you recommend I do, get say a 95C switch and leave the standard thermostat in there.... or put a 92C switch in and put a lower rating thermostat.

Thanks
youngNstupid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 07:35   #10 (permalink)
Veteran Ford Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 29
Posts: 5,083
Re: Thermo Fan switch

I'd be leaving the standard thermostat in there, I haven't had any issues with it.
psycho chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starter Switch EA1191 Inline 6 Tech 3 06-09-2004 17:57
Power window switch. fairmont1998 Interior | Electrical | ECU 2 06-02-2004 21:31
93 Escort 1.9L cooling fan switch? Hectic Ford Escort | Ford Laser | Ford TX3 | Ford Sierra | Mercury Capri 2 05-21-2004 21:40
New thermo put in, still not convinced its 100% 1LOWEA General Tech 29 08-03-2003 05:34
(AU,1,2,3) Door switch for cabin light Jamie XR6 General Tech 5 01-29-2003 18:10

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:26.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.