They told me I have to replace my engine? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2006, 06:24   #1 (permalink)

Question They told me I have to replace my engine?

Hi,

Total newbie here, don't know much about cars, so bear with me - I'm hoping to get some good advice.

I have a 99 Ford Explorer which I love. Currently, it has 140K miles on it. I've known for some time that I have a timing chain issue, but was trying to hold off until I had some bucks together to have it repaired. I took it to the dealer today, and they told me that I need a whole new engine. Oh, they could fix it for about $2500, but they recommended a new engine for about $5100 instead, with a 3 year warranty. Or, I could go with a used engine, for around $3500.

So what should I do? And if I go with a used engine, how many miles should I be looking at? And do these prices seem right? I'm just a girl - I don't want to be taken advantage of.

On the plus side, they put me in a nifty little red Mustang loaner car free of charge, probably to get on my good side . . .

Thanks much,

KC
KCMiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-11-2006, 06:51   #2 (permalink)

Re: They told me I have to replace my engine?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KCMiller
Hi,