Throttle position sensor - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2003, 02:43   #1 (permalink)
jjj
Registered User
 
jjj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Qld
Posts: 278
Throttle position sensor

Is the throttle position sensor the same on a 3.9L CPI engine compared to a 3.9L MPI engine.
jjj is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-24-2003, 03:39   #2 (permalink)
Look! A flying orangutan!
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: perth
Age: 31
Posts: 3,104
No.
You will also find the 3.9 MPFi motors have a single TPS (on the 4-speed) where the CFIs have 2 TPS plugs. This is easily gotten around by wiring the two plugs together so the box computer knows where the motor's at.
__________________
Proud TQE Operator and President of SEFAG - the Society for the Elimination of Ford Automatic Gearboxes

Pacemaker headers + 2.5" exhaust
EF Fairmont interior
MP3 player
Lowered King springs
5 speed manual
EF motor

Newest mod: EF Ghia wiring loom and dash
mongrelEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2003, 20:49   #3 (permalink)
Veteran Ford Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Lamb on Chapel, Chapel Street.
Age: 28
Posts: 2,893
JJJ, you have PM.

Just so happens I have a spare TPS.

Sundeep
Sundeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 01:14   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 19
The sensors themselves are the same, the throttle body they attach to is different. You can either do what mongreleb is suggesting, or get one of the mpefi throttle bodies with a long shaft on it to fit both the tps's.
Hampsteads is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Holdens new V6 EED-250 The Pub 52 08-09-2003 22:07
Throttle Position Sensor Problems? jjj General Tech 8 03-30-2003 23:42
Throttle Position Sensor - testing of. rfoden General Tech 7 02-23-2003 08:01
Understanding Engine Management - Part 1 Dan [Sac] V6 and Hot4 Tech 0 12-11-2001 13:08
Replacing Cam Position Sensor sableman General Tech 1 07-05-2001 14:21

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:14.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.