Throttle Position Sensor Problems? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2003, 21:42   #1 (permalink)
jjj
Registered User
 
jjj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Qld
Posts: 278
Throttle Position Sensor Problems?

My throttle position sensor on my 3.9l CPI is coming up with error code 63. Does anyone know if it is the same as a MPI throttle position sensor because my mate is wrecking a MPI 3.9l EA falcon and ford wants $99.85 for a new sensor?
jjj is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-24-2003, 10:11   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: 27 00S 153 07E
Posts: 1,944
Try it and see.
__________________
"I married Miss Right. I just didn't know her first name was Always."
TopGhia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2003, 18:04   #3 (permalink)
LET EM' RIPPP
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,819
An MPI conversion might fix the problem
__________________
CAUTION: Slippery When BOOSTING!
Bass Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2003, 18:48   #4 (permalink)
jjj
Registered User
 
jjj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Qld
Posts: 278
Ford tells me that there are 2 parts to the TPS in the CPI throttle body, an outer part and a inner part. Gregorys manual only refers to the outer part which I have tested with a multimeter as per manual and its ok, (Its just a variable resistor). My question is that the error code 63(low TPS signal) is coming up in the memory codes and not a constant fault. What TPS should I replace as they are $100 each from ford, any suggestions????
__________________
1997 EL Ford Fairmont.

1 Owner vehicle,
78000km's on the clock (12-1-05),
Showroom condition with all the fairmont goodies,
Metallic Silver.
jjj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2003, 19:27   #5 (permalink)
Veteran Ford Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Lamb on Chapel, Chapel Street.
Age: 28
Posts: 2,893
JJJ you have PM.

Sundeep
Sundeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 03:16   #6 (permalink)
EB wagon
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 8 Mile Plains, Brisbane
Posts: 932
The TPS are the same. On 4spd auto's there are 2 in tandem.

Brent
__________________
EB1 3.9L MPI Falcon Wagon with converted T5 / Pacemaker & 2.5" Redback sports exhaust / 2" lowered blocks at the rear, Kings lows up front / ED Tickford Head and Cam / K&N panel filter with XH intake Snorkel / Full EL Fairmont interior with woodgrain

89 EA1 3.9L TBI Falcon Sedan with 3 speed auto / currently being upgraded...
Brent79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2003, 19:51   #7 (permalink)
EA Falcon.com Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Melbourne's West
Posts: 90
I have a 4 speed cfi and had to replace my tps a while back. When I questioned Ford about a replacement they specifically asked if it was multi point or CFI as they are <b> both different
__________________
Clutterz

3.9 CFI Falcon. King Springs, Monroe GT Shockers. Formula 1 Tinted windows. Pioneer 3350 Head Unit, 12" JL Audio Sub. 6"-9" Pioneer 3 Ways, 4" Clarion 2 Ways, 500watt Schneider Amp, 222watt Sony Xplode Amp. Really shitty 14" Jelly Beans
Clutterz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2003, 00:51   #8 (permalink)
Look! A flying orangutan!
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: perth
Age: 31
Posts: 3,104
Ask a wrecker for the CFI manifold - they will probably pay you to take it! :)
These things are never sold, so if they ask more than about 10 or 20 bucks, don't bother with that wrecker ever again....
There are 2 on the 4speeds because one runs the gearbox and one runs the ECU. You *can* run the two off one sensor, but it's probably easier just to replace both TPS.
__________________
Proud TQE Operator and President of SEFAG - the Society for the Elimination of Ford Automatic Gearboxes

Pacemaker headers + 2.5" exhaust
EF Fairmont interior
MP3 player
Lowered King springs
5 speed manual
EF motor

Newest mod: EF Ghia wiring loom and dash
mongrelEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 23:42   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cobram
Posts: 197
if you have a centrepoint engine and you have problems with your TPS, the idle solenoid on the throttle body can also cause grief to your TPS. what happens is it gets a weak spot in the windings, so the computer thinks it still works, and doesn't log a fault code. Therefore the TPS reads low because the idle solenoid hasn't yet reached its proper position. This took me weeks to work out, and once i changed it it went good.
__________________
Drive it like you stole it.....
tickfordboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Holdens new V6 EED-250 The Pub 52 08-09-2003 22:07
Throttle position sensor jjj General Tech 3 03-25-2003 01:14
Throttle Position Sensor - testing of. rfoden General Tech 7 02-23-2003 08:01
ATTN: CFI > MPI guys Kenaz General Tech 26 02-08-2003 14:26
BA Falcon Engine Reveal RPO83 Ford Worldwide News 0 09-04-2002 07:27

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:09.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.