Where Is It?? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2002, 00:04   #1 (permalink)
Chasing 500rwkw
 
DansEdgli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,176
Where Is It??

i am putting in an S pac dash today and everyhting worked straight away when it was plugged in except the oil gauge which goes way off past the highest level.
Does anyone know where i can find the oil pressure sender on a ED 4.0l engine.
I thought i found it at the front of the motor with a wire attached to it on the right hand side but the holoe is way too small!!
Please help!
Thanks
DansEdgli is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-04-2002, 00:17   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 698
From memory, the Oil Pressure sender switch is located on the Passenger side of the engine, about 3 inches above the Oil Filter, and Back about 1 inch towards the Cabin.

Very hard to describe exactly where it is, but If you look around the Oil Fileter area (above and Back) for something with 1 single wire hanging from it, then chances are that you found it !

Cheers
Matti
Xyphoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2002, 00:24   #3 (permalink)
Chasing 500rwkw
 
DansEdgli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,176
oil sender

cool thanks heaps?
i should be able to finish it now?
Thanks
DansEdgli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2002, 01:14   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: NSW/ACT
Posts: 3,023
Your car wont have a pressure sender, it will just have a low pressure sensor I think.

You'll have to go to the wreckers and get one from a S-pac or higher model

The sender is grey and circular also
__________________
1993 ED XR6 M5 (1 of 329)
Polynesian Green
Turbo on the way!!
1993 EBII Fairmont (Now wrecking, PM if you want any parts)
1988 Nissan R31 Skyline
Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2002, 02:53   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 39
Martin is right..... i changed the cluster in my EA to a S-pack and i had to change the low level senser to a S-pack pressure sender in order to get it to read properly on the cluster as before that, it just went off the dial like yours is doing.... :)
Kwigibo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2002, 07:44   #6 (permalink)
Chasing 500rwkw
 
DansEdgli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,176
oil pressure sender

I already have the sender, i got it along with the Dash.
I just need to know where to put it.
Does it go where the old sensor was/is?
Where is it i ran out of daylight so i couldn't find it.
Thanks again
Dan
DansEdgli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2002, 16:57   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 698
Yeah, she goes exactly where the Old Oil Pressure Switch is.
Should be a simple matter of removing the Old one, using a little bit of loctite on the new Oil Pressure sensor, so as you dont get any Oil Leaks, and fitting it in place !

P.S. How much did the Oil Pressure sensor cost you ?
Ive got a friend whom had his EF engine replaced with an EL, and everything is sweet, with exception that the EL has a Pressure switch, not a pressure sensor !

Cheers
Matti
Xyphoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2002, 19:08   #8 (permalink)
Chasing 500rwkw
 
DansEdgli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,176
Price

Both the Dash and the oil pressure sender cost me $20.
I bought it off a member of the Ea falcon webite.
I thought this was a bargain so i bought it.
Catch ya
Dan
DansEdgli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2002, 22:53   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 698
Bugger me, that is an absolute bargain !
Im hoping (for my friends sake), that the oil pressure sender alone doesnt cost much more than that !

Well done !
Cheers
Matti
Xyphoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:27.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.