Where can I go thru the firewall? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2003, 13:29   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Brisbane, Qld
Posts: 16
confused Where can I go thru the firewall?

I have an 88 Ford Fairlane NA and have just purchased an amplifier for some rear speakers. However, I don't know where I can pass the main power lead from the battery thru the firewall--everything seems to be soundproofed and very tight, and I can't find a spare grommet.

Am I just not looking hard enough or do I need to drill a new hole and put a grommet in it??? Please help...
lsj2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-11-2003, 14:48   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sunbury
Age: 45
Posts: 34
Locate the main loom going through the firewall and pierce a hole carefully through that. Make sure you don`t damage the loom and then you`re cooking with gas.
Shambles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2003, 17:54   #3 (permalink)
Ford Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Burswood, WA
Age: 33
Posts: 66
Nah dont drill anything, it should still have the hole for the clutch cable to go thru, i did it on the ED, assuming the fairlane has got the provision for it.

It was as simple as pushing out the grommet!

paul
ed94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2003, 19:10   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Brisbane, Qld
Posts: 16
So I can either pierce through the main loom grommet going thru the firewall, or find the clutch grommet.

My Fairlane is a 3spd auto, and also the firewall is covered in fireproof material. Where is the clutch cable grommet usually located, so I don't have to rip off all the soundproofing?

Thanks for your help too.
lsj2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2003, 22:46   #5 (permalink)
"Steve has a car?"
 
Rmyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne
Age: 31
Posts: 2,207
There's a grommet located on the drivers side around 5 cm from the top off the wall, you can't miss it!
__________________
Rmyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 01:42   #6 (permalink)
Ford Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Burswood, WA
Age: 33
Posts: 66
Yer if you wanna find it without pushing all the foam around, do it from behind the pedals!

paul
ed94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 02:18   #7 (permalink)
EA II S-pac Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cairns
Posts: 63
Look from the engine bay back towards the firewall.. Locate the cable for the bonnet release and then move down about 5 more cm and you should find a spare gromet (or thats what i found with my ea II S)

Jake
__________________
Regards Jake

EAII Falcon S
Mods: Pacemaker extractors, 2.5" Mandrel Bent Redback Exhaust, Crow Stage 2 Cam, K&N, Sony head unit, Kenwood 6x9" and Clarion 4"...
Coming: 17" rims, and King superlows..
Jakobi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 04:50   #8 (permalink)
I Love Forced Induction.
 
BLWNEB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 569
Thats about it.
__________________
IF YOU DONT TRY IT YOU WONT KNOW.
BLWNEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 06:29   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Brisbane, Qld
Posts: 16
Thanks heaps everyone. Found the grommet and installed the power wire. Now I just need to finish the box and install the amp, and I'll be cooking.

Ford's rule, and thanks again.
lsj2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 16:38   #10 (permalink)
Ford Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Burswood, WA
Age: 33
Posts: 66
lsj2000,

Are you gunna do the amp install in the factory spot or are ya sticking the thing under a seat?

Ive just completed my amp and crossover in the factory spot and it looks smicko. My mate has a 1993 ED fairmont so I used his amp cover and traced it! Although i made mine out of thin MDF so its a bit stiffer than his!

paul
ed94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
clutch pulling down firewall b-juggles Trans | Driveline 10 04-23-2003 02:34
clutch tearing out of firewall. XR8XTC Trans | Driveline 6 08-20-2002 18:00
Idea: Remove that 'extra thick' firewall form AV XR's BLACK XR6-VCT The Pub 10 04-22-2002 22:00
CLUTCH PULLING DOWN FIREWALL!!!! Kebab King Trans | Driveline 2 04-21-2002 10:08
What's this firewall fitting for? EA S General Tech 8 01-06-2002 17:28

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:25.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.