Winsor Lifters - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-17-05, 06:38 PM Thread Starter
CLAUD
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DARWIN
Age: 49
Posts: 21
Winsor Lifters

IVE REBUILT THE HEADS AND CHANGED CAM TO A STAGE2 NEW STD.LIFTERS OFCOURSE AND LUBED THEM .PROB I HAVE IS LIFTER CLEARANCES .THE MOTOR IS NIOSY AND RATTLES.ITS NOT THE BOTTOM END AND SPRINGS ARE OK.I USED OLD PUSHRODS SAME ONES AND SHE WAS SMOOTH BEFORE .I DID PUT IN ABOUT 3 DIFF CAMS TO TRY OUT AND ONE LUMPY 3/4 ONE.IVE FOLLOWED ALL SPECS TO WORKSHOP MANUAL SETTINGS .DO i NEED TO GO TIGHTER ON TAPPET CLEARANCES .THIS IS A HYDR.SET UP. OR COULD THERE BE CRAP BLOCKING THE NEW LIFTERS? ANY HELP APPRECIATED!

claud is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-17-05, 09:41 PM
Registered User
 
Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 992
Re: Winsor Lifters

Cams and lifters must be matched if second hand. They cant be mixed and matched. Did you run new lifters on all 3 cams?
Racer is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-19-05, 01:43 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 529
Re: Winsor Lifters

Sounds like you don't have enough lifter preload or poor oil pressure. Also are your rockers adjustabe?
not ford is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-20-05, 03:32 AM Thread Starter
CLAUD
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DARWIN
Age: 49
Posts: 21
Re: Winsor Lifters

Quote:
Originally Posted by Racer
Cams and lifters must be matched if second hand. They cant be mixed and matched. Did you run new lifters on all 3 cams?

yes and lubed them as specs require
claud is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-20-05, 03:34 AM Thread Starter
CLAUD
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DARWIN
Age: 49
Posts: 21
Re: Winsor Lifters

yea man as specified in cam instruction and manuals.another bloke just said set preload in lifters.thanks
claud is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-20-05, 03:39 AM Thread Starter
CLAUD
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DARWIN
Age: 49
Posts: 21
Question Re: Winsor Lifters

Quote:
Originally Posted by not ford
Sounds like you don't have enough lifter preload or poor oil pressure. Also are your rockers adjustabe?
not sure ay,std rockers 2 locknuts,oil pressure is 60-65 psi on a smiths guage so think oil press .ok. how do i check 4 preload ,with a dial guage?before installing or on cam in motor?
claud is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome