Yikes... 4 spd auto problems... - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
General Tech Have a question that is not covered by one of the other categories? This is the forum for all other items not specifically covered in other categories.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-27-02, 06:07 AM Thread Starter
EB wagon
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 8 Mile Plains, Brisbane
Posts: 932
Yikes... 4 spd auto problems...

Hey guyz, my old 4spd is developing a problem it seems... ITs only happened twice now and the first time i ignored it but it happened again tonight. I was driving along happily doing about 80kph when all of a sudden my auto downshifted to 3rd...
I thought i was hit the T-bar or something but it was still in the D position... so i flicked it down too 2nd and then back up too drive but she wouldnt kick backinto 4th! So i slowed at the next set of lights and the damn thing wouldnt go into 1st! It was just running 2nd and 3rd! So i stopped at the fuel station and turned off the ignition.... refulled and restarted.... it began operation normally again! Anyone know what could have caused this???
My box has always performed crappy (it needs a S5 replacement)... like it will upshift when u take yer foot off the gas after accelerating and then would nearly stall itself.. but it never not shifted into a gear.. its got me worried now coz i dont have the cash to get the box sorted out atm. Anyone have any idea's??

Brent


EB1 3.9L MPI Falcon Wagon with converted T5 / Pacemaker & 2.5" Redback sports exhaust / 2" lowered blocks at the rear, Kings lows up front / ED Tickford Head and Cam / K&N panel filter with XH intake Snorkel / Full EL Fairmont interior with woodgrain

89 EA1 3.9L TBI Falcon Sedan with 3 speed auto / currently being upgraded...
Brent79 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-27-02, 01:13 PM
NZ
feed me hey
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Age: 66
Posts: 4,692
It sounds like some sort of fail safe mode. Perhaps chech the level of trans fluid, check its not burnt etc. I couldnt imagine it would overheat being driven normally. Perhaps a sensor id playing up?

Just a few ideas.
NZ is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-27-02, 07:00 PM
300+rwkw DC LTD Member
 
LTDHO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Melbourne, Vic
Age: 41
Posts: 1,622
I had the exact same thing happen to mine. Not sure, but I think is was because the fluid level was really low.

Now would be a good time to dump the pan, replace the filter, clain the magnets and add fresh fluid.

What colour is the fluid?
It should be red and clear..

LTDHO
Power by me 360rwkw
Check out E Series Owners Club on Facebook
LTDHO is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-27-02, 08:30 PM
5Litres of Ford Power
 
ELGhiaV8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Perth
Age: 40
Posts: 100
If the computer detects that there are any problems with the tranny then it will engage it into 3rd gear (limp home mode), believe me I have been there. My old EB did this when the tranny died !

Go The Roaring Fords !!
ELGhiaV8 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-28-02, 03:12 PM Thread Starter
EB wagon
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 8 Mile Plains, Brisbane
Posts: 932
Checked fluid level and thats fine... was changed not more than 3 months ago.. I thought when in limp-home-mode, the box locked into 2nd? It was running 2nd and 3rd gears. Anyway, i will run the computer test and check for codes... I cant tell if its overheating coz when i changed the dash, the new dash didnt have the power mode light so i dunno if it was flashing or not.
Thanx guys

Brent

EB1 3.9L MPI Falcon Wagon with converted T5 / Pacemaker & 2.5" Redback sports exhaust / 2" lowered blocks at the rear, Kings lows up front / ED Tickford Head and Cam / K&N panel filter with XH intake Snorkel / Full EL Fairmont interior with woodgrain

89 EA1 3.9L TBI Falcon Sedan with 3 speed auto / currently being upgraded...
Brent79 is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-28-02, 09:13 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 19
That is the exact same thing my mates box has done twice. Fluid level is ok. Anyone got any other ideas on fixing it? This 'limp home mode' is it expensive to fix?

*EDIT* Can anyone tell me how to do the computer test?
DaLeroy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > General Tech
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4 speed Auto Fluid Transfusion psproule Trans | Driveline 12 03-30-03 07:58 PM
The Year was 1976 .... russellw The Pub 21 03-15-03 09:13 AM
This Years Chicago Auto Show Strives to Dazzle Car Lovers Stacy94PGT Ford Worldwide News 0 02-04-03 08:18 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome