What Gearbox Do I Use? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Cortina Forum
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Ford Cortina Forum Forum for discussion of the Ford Cortina.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2005, 04:12   #1 (permalink)
EFI Corty
 
te_v8_5l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 55
What Gearbox Do I Use?

which 4 spd Single rail Box do i use for a cleveland conversion with a TE, the Falcon One Or a Cortina one?

Cheers.
te_v8_5l is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-07-2005, 20:20   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Townsville
Age: 41
Posts: 1,212
Re: What Gearbox Do I Use?

Some 351 Clevo single rails have a different 1st gear ratio and are stronger. The 6 cyl single rail is the same as the 302 Clevo. Check your tranny tunnel as you may need to use the shorter 6 cyl one (6 cyl Cortina extension housing is shorter than the Falcon 6 cyl).
__________________
regards
Stephen
clevo400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2005, 05:23   #3 (permalink)
v8goat
 
v8goat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NZ
Posts: 5
Re: What Gearbox Do I Use?

Personally I would always choose the stronger one, but that will depend on your expected horsepower etc... Why gamble on the strength of something? Broken gearboxs are not fun to change (my opinion) and do you really want to "take it easy" on your car just to keep the box in one piece? And if you do will you still think that way when some yobbo who thinks his car is fast is beside you wanting a race?
v8goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2005, 10:49   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Townsville
Age: 41
Posts: 1,212
Re: What Gearbox Do I Use?

Whoops.
I forgot to mention the 6 cyl/302C has 3.06 first gear and the 351C has 2.78 first gear.
__________________
regards
Stephen
clevo400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2005, 03:57   #5 (permalink)
EFI Corty
 
te_v8_5l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 55
Re: What Gearbox Do I Use?

i mean like fitting wise, the cortina shifters are towards the front and falcon ones sit further back, does it really matter what box i use for fitting wise? how about falcon toploader? i have all three
te_v8_5l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2005, 06:20   #6 (permalink)
1974 xl tc 250 cortina
 
thek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Wheeelers Hill, Victoria
Posts: 526
Re: What Gearbox Do I Use?

From what I've heard the toploader is the only way to go.
thek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2005, 17:19   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Townsville
Age: 41
Posts: 1,212
Re: What Gearbox Do I Use?

We used a Toploader in a TE Corty and made a plate for the shifter to line up in the hole. C if yours fits or you might need to make the tranny hole bigger.
__________________
regards
Stephen
clevo400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2005, 06:31   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 49
Re: What Gearbox Do I Use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by te_v8_5l
i mean like fitting wise, the cortina shifters are towards the front and falcon ones sit further back, does it really matter what box i use for fitting wise? how about falcon toploader? i have all three
g'day TE_V8_5L... just wondering if u dont end up useing the top loader....will u sell it? if so how mutch?
i have been looking 4 one 4 agers and had no luck yet
cheers ROB250
ROB250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2006, 02:26   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 181
Re: What Gearbox Do I Use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ROB250
g'day TE_V8_5L... just wondering if u dont end up useing the top loader....will u sell it? if so how mutch?
i have been looking 4 one 4 agers and had no luck yet
cheers ROB250
my friend has one that i sold him and he now not using. it is orginal 6 cyl cortina,with new hurst shifter. he paid $1000 for it off me 6 months ago. i will ask if your keen. cheers,,xrglen
xrglen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Cortina Forum



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:00.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.