Ford Forums banner

Harmonic Balancers

2K views 7 replies 4 participants last post by  Jewboy 
#1 ·
Hi. Newbie here.
I've had a quick look around but couldn't find any info i'm after.

I've picked up 2 SC14 s/c's and want to know if the serpentine harmonic balancer off a later model 6 like an EF will fit onto an Alloy head 250 x-flow. The pulleys are the main hurdle at the moment as i don't really want to go with a gilmer setup ( i still might need to go this way to get the proper ratio, just want it working first). Any other info regarding fitting of these would be apprieciated.

#2 ·
#3 ·
can't help you with the swap of harmonic balancers but if I recall from my 250's there are threaded holes in the front of standard balancer which you could use to secure a blower drive pulley. Also be careful on the blowers to correctly support the input shaft, this is a weakness which you need to address. also keep in mind belt whip will destroy even correctly supported blowers.

am interested in hearing how you go with this. have fitted one to an eb falcon but found it ran out of puff around 3500rpm, think it heated the air to a point where thermal inefficiency took over volumetric efficiency gains.

will be interesting to hear how two goes.

#4 ·
These blowers need lots of belt wrap if you are using 2 with a very long sepentine belt. Using a VN V6 commodore power steering pulley should get you a ~1.4:1 overdrive ratio then all you have to do is machine an extra groove into the blower pulleys. Try mounting it to your existing harmonic balencer. My friend was going to do this on a hemi 6 using an alloy motor plate. We worked out that at the above drive ratio the blowers would THEORETICALLY support ~400fwhp and give ~12psi. He canned the idea after not having enough spare time to make the plate and the questionable strength of a 300,000km+ motor which had bore lips when the head was off last.

#5 ·