Accessing The engine computer - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-03-02, 05:07 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 17
Question Accessing The engine computer

Hey i was wondering what type of programs would i need to put on a laptop to be able to stuff round with the computer settings on an EL if thats possible. Im not looking at a motec just something that wont cost a heap

Would i need a special card to interphase with the computer and if so where can i get one and where can i get a cable that would plug into the laptop and engine management system or would i have to get the plugs and put em into a cable myself?
Greeny is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-03-02, 01:26 PM
carazy's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adelaide,SA Australia
Age: 34
Posts: 1,966
you can access the computer from a engineering port on the bottom of the ECU. have a device to do this and it is sold here but it's around $700 - $1500

Breathe! It's only the internet....
carazy is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-05-02, 06:29 PM
FORD its a way of Life
StarkEA's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Shepparton
Posts: 206
HI I have an 88 EA MPFI and would like to play with the computer settings, but the only laptop I hav access to is a MAC so dose n e 1 know if what software I can use and what cable I will need to plung it in???

1998 EL Fairmont Ghia in Burgundy, Tickford enchenced, Leather Int, Lowered with White Line Works Kit, 17" ROH hi polished rims. AU XR snorkel.
StarkEA is offline  
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-05-02, 10:22 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,386
Just a note... You have to know exactly what you guys are doing when tweecing, as there can be absurd results.

EL driver...
Futura97 is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-05-03, 08:15 PM
carazy's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adelaide,SA Australia
Age: 34
Posts: 1,966
Yeah thats correct but the best thing about the tweecer is that it leaves the default setting alone and let you play with up to 5 other settings so if you stuff it up you can just change back to default

Breathe! It's only the internet....
carazy is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-05-03, 08:22 PM
96 EF Futura
SiX_iN_a_RoW's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Now Residing in Brisbane
Age: 32
Posts: 2,494
while we're on the topic of ECU's ( sorry for hijacking the thread ) how much would it cost to remap and ea-eb ecu to EBxr6 specs, can it be done and would it be cheaper then buying an EBXR6 ecu?

Lets go find that Hotdog tree I planted

Lowered EF Futura
Black Steelies ( too cheap to buy proper mags )
SiX_iN_a_RoW is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-06-03, 12:32 AM
Two SC 61's = trouble
ebxr8240's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Penrith,nswAus/Morrinville.NZ
Age: 62
Posts: 6,360
Remember after market ecu start at around $900.00 up.With a programable handpiece to play with.. As in ems stinger..etc..BUT after market won't make much difference if your engine is std..Won't work on auto's either..

Don't be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic!
Tuned & maintained by "Peppertree Perfmormance". Dart block, Scat 4340 steel crank, Custom C.P pistons.Oliver rods.. Mal Wood twin plate clutch.. Twin SC61/2's,482 rwkw/ 645 rwhp..
Passengers, myocardial infarction material..
R.I.P Possum...
ebxr8240 is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-06-03, 02:46 AM
methanol injected clevo
xr8_sprint's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Perth, WA
Age: 32
Posts: 1,185
From what i am aware tweecer is not yet available for EEC-IV (as found in ELs).

I would go out and say it would be alot cheaper to find a XR6 computer rather than paying for a chip and then to have it tuned if it is possible.

the tweecer software does not run on a macintosh as far as i am aware...

1981 XD Ex-Interceptor - 393C, AFD 4Vs, Methanol Injection, Powerglide

1994 ED XR8 Sprint - 347W, 5-speed, 3.9s
xr8_sprint is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-06-03, 04:14 AM
Posts: n/a

The Tweecer is useable on all EECIV & V but there is currently limited support for aussie EEC's. The EEC-Tuner also has similar limited support.
The most support currently is for EB-ED V8.
I have some support for EB-ED 4.0(using the EEC-Tuner) and I am working on getting full support soon(including trans control) with the Tweecer.
I am also working on EF-L V8 and EF(DIS) 4.0 and have some stuff roughed out. I have someone else working on AU EECV too.
BA (PTEC) is being looked at also....of course the EEC-Tuner or Tweecer will not work as these ECU's have no J3 port at all.

It would be cheaper(most likely) to buy an XR6 EEC from the wreckers but it might be difficult to actually find one. Of course it would only be of benefit if you had exactly the same spec engine as an XR6...Most of you likely want better performance than that? So a Tweecer(when support is available) would allow you to recalibrate to suit your particlular engine. I have a bin. dump from an ED XR6 and there are only slight map differences between it and the std. 4.0. Of course it is used in conjunction with higher fuel pressure on the XR6.

You could go aftermarket but you'll have to spend more than $3500 to get close to the control of the factory EEC and you auto guys still won't have trans control for that money. Remember setting up from scratch costs a lot of time $$$$ and if you can't at least up your line pressure the auto will fry itself quickly.

So if you want to do some basic mods to your six that won't get you into trouble with the stock SD(speed density) setup keep your camshaft lobe centres wide(close to stock) and do things that improve outright flow; exhaust,headers,ported head, unrestrict the inlet etc. Then get an adjustable fuel regulator, spin it up on the dyno and if required up your fuel pressure a tad to get the Air/fuel ratio correct.
Hopefully I can get some more six cylinder support happening in the meantime.

BTW I have found the smartlock enable/disable bit in EB-ED V8 EEC's which will help those that want to use a Smartlock EEC in a car not so equipped(or vice-versa).

post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-06-03, 01:35 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: 27 00S 153 07E
Posts: 1,944
From what i am aware tweecer is not yet available for EEC-IV (as found in ELs).
I thought EF/EL were EEC-V. Anybody confirm?

To confuse matters further, the workshop manual wiring diagrams for EF shows earth points as connecting to an "EEC-IV" module, while the EL diagrams, show same earth connections to an "EEC-V" module. WTF??

"I married Miss Right. I just didn't know her first name was Always."
TopGhia is offline  
Sponsored Links

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Holdens new V6 EED-250 The Pub 52 08-09-03 11:07 PM
Ford Introduces New Duratec Sci Engine With Unique ‘smart Charge Injection’ RPO83 Ford Worldwide News 0 05-14-03 11:59 AM
A New Boss Born in Australia RPO83 Ford Worldwide News 0 10-16-02 07:12 PM
BA Falcon Engine Reveal RPO83 Ford Worldwide News 0 09-04-02 08:27 AM
Understanding Engine Management - Part 1 Dan [Sac] V6 and Hot4 Tech 0 12-11-01 02:08 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome