AU stereo question - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-15-04, 06:02 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
philstoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Melbourne
Age: 44
Posts: 1,350
AU stereo question

My radio is not working at all, and there is a red light on, just under the cd eject button, does anyone know what the deal is with it? couldnt find anything in the workshop manual...

thanks in advance


Terrorising a crap driver near you!
philstoj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-17-04, 03:21 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 12
Re: AU stereo question

it could be that at some time you've cut the power to the head unit either from removing it or unhooking the battery. if this is the case or if you have done this some other way then you need to call up ford ford a new code which you put in to get it working again. it costs about 20-30 bucks from memory.
takeaction is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-20-04, 01:29 AM
BA FALCON XR6™
 
FPV TURBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 938
Re: AU stereo question

My old car use to do the same thing, its something to do with the fuse.

I could fix mine by disconnecting the battery, it would work fine again then but make sure you have your radio code handy.
FPV TURBO is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-20-04, 08:15 AM
012
AUTS50 #012
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Melbourne
Age: 17
Posts: 1,001
Re: AU stereo question

Does the display say CODE on the screen? If so then it's just a matter of entering the 4 digit radio code.


Quote:
Originally Posted by takeaction
you need to call up ford ford a new code which you put in to get it working again. it costs about 20-30 bucks from memory.
Never cost me a cent and I've asked for it a few times on different models.
012 is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-20-04, 08:23 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
philstoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Melbourne
Age: 44
Posts: 1,350
Re: AU stereo question

Quote:
Originally Posted by FPV TURBO
My old car use to do the same thing, its something to do with the fuse.

I could fix mine by disconnecting the battery, it would work fine again then but make sure you have your radio code handy.
your right! i checked the fuses, and when i popped it back in, the radio came to life!!!!! and the fuse wasnt even blown!!!!
bloody gremlins...
one thing you dont wanna do to an au, is take the steering wheel off!
that was the most stressful thing i have ever done on a car, the idiots at ford locktite the bloody bolt, it striped the steering wheel puller holes of the thread, and it took 2 big 120kg+ blokes to reef on the bastard to get it off...

Terrorising a crap driver near you!
philstoj is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-25-04, 09:39 AM
AU3 Falcon XR8 Ute (auto)
 
Steve_T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: NT, Australia
Posts: 357
Re: AU stereo question

Yeah, the wheel'd be a bugger to get off without a puller! I canged mine recently and found it very easy though (with functioning puller :) - Did you make sure you really tightened up the two puller bolts good? I found out the hard way when I first removed a bicycle crank that the difference between 'moderately tight' and 'properly bloody tight' is the difference between a thread stripping out like butter or standing up to the force of a puller!
Steve_T is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-26-04, 07:36 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
philstoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Melbourne
Age: 44
Posts: 1,350
Re: AU stereo question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve_T
Yeah, the wheel'd be a bugger to get off without a puller! I canged mine recently and found it very easy though (with functioning puller :) - Did you make sure you really tightened up the two puller bolts good? I found out the hard way when I first removed a bicycle crank that the difference between 'moderately tight' and 'properly bloody tight' is the difference between a thread stripping out like butter or standing up to the force of a puller!
had puller, but the thread peeled out like butter, must have been a dodgy one cos they were put in all the way and still it was buggered

Terrorising a crap driver near you!
philstoj is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-01-04, 03:58 AM
BA FALCON XR6™
 
FPV TURBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 938
Re: AU stereo question

Glad i could help ya out mate.

Its bloody annoying when it happens, get in an NO radio at all......

As for the steering wheel, i left mine to the professionals (kids this is something you shouldnt try at home) lol..
FPV TURBO is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AU XR6 Aftermarket Stereo mikeeman_AUXR6 Audio And Security 9 10-13-06 01:26 AM
AU 2/3 cruise control question XR6 VCT UTE Australian Falcons 15 04-22-04 03:41 AM
AU 2 stereo bracket asferruz Australian Falcons 1 08-17-03 06:08 PM
Installing Stereo in 98 AU Falcon YodFur Audio And Security 4 03-16-03 11:32 PM
Car stereo question... Falchoon Audio And Security 17 08-22-01 04:19 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome