Brent79...and ppls who have installed Digi-Dash - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2002, 09:45   #1 (permalink)
Veteran Ford Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Lamb on Chapel, Chapel Street.
Age: 28
Posts: 2,893
Brent79...and ppls who have installed Digi-Dash

Hey,

What is involved installing the digital dash?

I am buying one off Rmyers and was wondering how to install it and what else i had to get to install the dash.

When i remove the original dash (SII EA GL) and connect the new one what will work and won;t work?

thanks

Sundeep
--
Sundeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-01-2002, 12:14   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Ford Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Lamb on Chapel, Chapel Street.
Age: 28
Posts: 2,893
Brent79...and ppls who have installed a digi-dash

Hey,

What is involved installing the digital dash?

I am buying one off Rmyers and was wondering how to install it and what else i had to get to install the dash.

When i remove the original dash (SII EA GL) and connect the new one what will work and won;t work?

thanks

Sundeep
--
Sundeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2002, 09:26   #3 (permalink)
Veteran Ford Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Lamb on Chapel, Chapel Street.
Age: 28
Posts: 2,893
Oh C'moooonnnn!!!!

.

Sundeep
--
Sundeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2002, 09:54   #4 (permalink)
Brent79
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Oh C'moooonnnn!!!!

sunny, The GL and ghia connectors are totally different.. The GL has 2 whereas the ghia has 3. If you really want the ghia dash then it will take a fair bit of re-wiring too do it. You need to cut the GL connectors off and wire the ghia connectors in so u will need to get some ghia dash connectors from the wrecker if u dont already have em. Its a long process of working thru each wire, cross checking with a circuit schematic, checking and double checking too make sure u got the right wire going into the right plug. A word of warning: Some of the colours in the schematics are slightly different too the ones you may have on the connectors. My dash was from a fairlane NA, i think i remember finding 2 wires that were different. A multimeter is a must for this job!

Brent
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2002, 14:31   #5 (permalink)
Veteran Ford Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Lamb on Chapel, Chapel Street.
Age: 28
Posts: 2,893
Re: Oh C'moooonnnn!!!!

Oh Damn,

I'll research the idea more thouroughly and consult you when im f'ed for ideas again..

Or could you tell me what i need to wire to what?

Thanks

Sundeep
--
Sundeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2002, 06:44   #6 (permalink)
400 kg ego
 
Troutman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,188
These threads may be of assistance:

http://discussions.fordforums.com/sh...hlight=Digital

http://discussions.fordforums.com/sh...hlight=Digital
__________________
Jack Travis, E-Series Acting President

1989 Ford Fairmont Ghia turbo/GL replica (underway)
1994 Eunos 800M
1990 Ford Laser S
Troutman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2002, 16:31   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 78
IAW Brent, It's great having the digi dash, but was it worth the 4 or so hours of testing, wiring, testing, re-wiring? not really....
AcidBurns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2002, 02:08   #8 (permalink)
Veteran Ford Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Lamb on Chapel, Chapel Street.
Age: 28
Posts: 2,893
That reminds me Acid, when do I get my S-Pack dash?

Sundeep
Sundeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2002, 07:36   #9 (permalink)
EB wagon
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 8 Mile Plains, Brisbane
Posts: 932
Hey Acid - i reckon if ya got the shitty ole GL dash that doesnt even have a tacho, then its more than worth 4 hours of installation time! Plus it goes well as a package with the trip computer and climate control displays....

Brent
Brent79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2002, 15:54   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 78
Good point Brent, but I've killed the Tacho in the digi dash anyway! Quite posibly killing the Fuel and temp guages too, just trying to work it all out at this stage... Sunny, I told you, you can have it at the next cruise that I can turn up too! <g>
AcidBurns is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:12.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.