Can an XF Ghia Digital Dash fit into a XF S Pak? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2002, 18:22   #1 (permalink)
mmm..Vee 8
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Age: 31
Posts: 496
Can an XF Ghia Digital Dash fit into a XF S Pak?

Hey All!

Ive been having never ending problems with the digital instrument module in my XF S Pak. Lately the combo electronic temp/fuel oil/volts guages have been either showing incorrect readings on all guages (eg oil pressure/volts very low, when infact they are normal, fuel level lower than what is in tank..etc, temperature higher than it really is). It may do this for a few days or a few weeks depending. Now ive heard that the electronic modules are prone to failure...so im thinking about ripping the whole cluster out and putting a XF Fairmont Ghia one in (fully digital).

Now will the Ghia cluster simply plug in?? The S Pak has the full instrument cluster from the factory...just not completly digital?

Or would i be better off repairing my cluster i have now?

Sorry for the long-winded post :-)

Thanks

Extreme
__________________
First Ever Car - '84 XF Fairmont Ghia....Big Luxo Tank, Just Gotta Love that Velour!
Previous Ride- '87 XF S Pak...Now Retired with 305,000 on the clock!
Previous Ride-'99 AU Falcon S,Got sick of the 6...Need a V8!

5/1994 ED Futura Classic 5.0 in Polyneisan Green - One of the last ever built
Extreme_2020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-19-2002, 18:39   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,386
Yep, just hook it up and your laughing. I've done it too my XF
__________________
EL driver...
Futura97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2002, 19:15   #3 (permalink)
mmm..Vee 8
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Age: 31
Posts: 496
Thumbs up Thanks

Thanks for your quick reply xf_xr6!

So it'll just plug in no problem to the existing wiring?

Now all i need to do is find a good Ghia dash!


Thanks

Extreme
__________________
First Ever Car - '84 XF Fairmont Ghia....Big Luxo Tank, Just Gotta Love that Velour!
Previous Ride- '87 XF S Pak...Now Retired with 305,000 on the clock!
Previous Ride-'99 AU Falcon S,Got sick of the 6...Need a V8!

5/1994 ED Futura Classic 5.0 in Polyneisan Green - One of the last ever built
Extreme_2020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2002, 23:56   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,386
No worries extreme...

All the wiring is already in place, so you don't need to modify anything.

Where do you live? I have a dash, albiet an S pac one, that you could have cheaply if you can't find the ghia one....
__________________
EL driver...
Futura97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2002, 00:10   #5 (permalink)
mmm..Vee 8
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Age: 31
Posts: 496
Thanks again xf_xr6!


Im in sydney...im gonna speak to a local dashboard guy and see if he can get one in for me....or see how much it is to repair the dash i have...but if he isint any help ill be sure to PM ya!

Thanks Mate

Extreme
__________________
First Ever Car - '84 XF Fairmont Ghia....Big Luxo Tank, Just Gotta Love that Velour!
Previous Ride- '87 XF S Pak...Now Retired with 305,000 on the clock!
Previous Ride-'99 AU Falcon S,Got sick of the 6...Need a V8!

5/1994 ED Futura Classic 5.0 in Polyneisan Green - One of the last ever built
Extreme_2020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2002, 04:14   #6 (permalink)
No longer around
 
MADNC_8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Geelong
Age: 33
Posts: 4,882
hey pal you dont need an XF Ghia dash to use the cluster

just undo the screws that hold the black facia in and take it out then theres 4 screws that hold ya cluster in take ya own out and unplug the 2 plugs - too easy plug in the digital Ghia one and screw it back in screw in the black facia and ay laughing
on my ute the oil sender didnt work but it had the wrong sensor on the motor (poverty pack XF ute lol)

i was a bit worried that the tach mightnt work as i never had one in the old cluster but it was all wired up and everything

it is the most easiest mod that there is for an XF - and its so cool looking!
MADNC_8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2002, 09:16   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,386
I didn't actually mean the dash, I meant the cluster. Just a little typo on my behalf.

Not sure if extreme did the typo aswell.......
__________________
EL driver...
Futura97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2002, 17:48   #8 (permalink)
mmm..Vee 8
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Age: 31
Posts: 496
I was talking about the instrument cluster

I still keep using the "layman" term of dashboard :-)

Extreme
__________________
First Ever Car - '84 XF Fairmont Ghia....Big Luxo Tank, Just Gotta Love that Velour!
Previous Ride- '87 XF S Pak...Now Retired with 305,000 on the clock!
Previous Ride-'99 AU Falcon S,Got sick of the 6...Need a V8!

5/1994 ED Futura Classic 5.0 in Polyneisan Green - One of the last ever built
Extreme_2020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2002, 17:11   #9 (permalink)
mmm..Vee 8
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Age: 31
Posts: 496
Thanks for all your help so far guys!

Ive got the ghia dash on its way...now ive been looking through the gregories on how to remove the black surround...

It says that you have to remove the black surround. Right. i Know that there are 2 screws on the top, and 1 screw underneath the headlight/hazard/demister switches on the left and right.

But the gregories says that there is 2 screws holding the bottom of the black surround??. Ive removed the finish panel under the steering column, where the fuses are. I cant see the screws??. The gregories only says to remove the finish panel.

Appreciate all your Help!

Extreme
__________________
First Ever Car - '84 XF Fairmont Ghia....Big Luxo Tank, Just Gotta Love that Velour!
Previous Ride- '87 XF S Pak...Now Retired with 305,000 on the clock!
Previous Ride-'99 AU Falcon S,Got sick of the 6...Need a V8!

5/1994 ED Futura Classic 5.0 in Polyneisan Green - One of the last ever built
Extreme_2020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2002, 17:28   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,386
Having done this a while ago, I cant remember exactly how it was done, but....

Pull all four binnacle switches to the most outest position(ie pull em towards you)

There should be screws there. Remove these screws and the binnacles will come out after unplugging the wires.

I think there might be more screws behind(not 100% sure), remove all these if there are any there.

you should be able to see the screws on the outside of the cluster, maybe ontop of the dash or between the top of the dash and the cluster...

I hope this helps, Its just I don't have my old dash no more so i can't check for ya, and the ghia dash is completely different.

Good luck
__________________
EL driver...
Futura97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XF ghia interior into plain XF DansEdgli Interior | Electrical | ECU 27 01-23-2010 07:42
XF ghia dash speedo wont work in XF Falcon rodzxf Interior | Electrical | ECU 13 11-05-2003 03:20
BA Falcon Interior Reveal RPO83 Ford Worldwide News 5 09-16-2003 18:12
digital dash in ED Ghia MADNC_8 Interior | Electrical | ECU 3 08-03-2002 09:56

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:17.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.