Change XE GL Dash to S/Pack Dash - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-27-03, 02:55 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 24
Change XE GL Dash to S/Pack Dash

Hello All,
Just wondering if it is possible to change a standard XE Falcon Dash to a S/Pack Dash? Does the wiring loom need to be changed over,or will the new cluster just plug in? . Any advice would be much appreciated.

jb71 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-27-03, 03:46 AM
Falcon 2.. Ferrari 0 hehe
 
MaD_WoG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Age: 33
Posts: 1,290
Re: Change XE GL Dash to S/Pack Dash

Easy to do, im looking for a v8 tacho dash atm...

to take it out, you need to remove the bottom part from under the dash, around the handbrake... the 4 turny things... then, under the headlight and if fitted spotlight switch, there is a little white rectangl,e press that, and pull the switch, should come off into your hand, then get a 9/16" inch long socket, and remove the nuts, there are also 2 scres on the top of the dash, hood thingy, and one on the left side, under it... take that out, you will need to take out the headlight switch thingy.. 3 screws, and then the instrument cluster, 2 screws on the top of it, unplug it from behined, and dont forget the lights under it, and its out, comes outfrom the top... DONE!
MaD_WoG is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-27-03, 03:53 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 24
Re: Change XE GL Dash to S/Pack Dash

Does the wiring loom need to be modified or will the dash plug straight in?
jb71 is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-27-03, 07:45 AM
Registered User
 
EVL-TE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Australia
Age: 34
Posts: 162
Re: Change XE GL Dash to S/Pack Dash

Depending on the year of the car (i think) you will need to do a few things. one of them is to replace the oil presure switch with an oil pressure sensor to get the oil pressure gauge working correctly, not sure about the ammeter though, but if the tacho isnt working you may need to run a wire from the coil to the dash (not 100% sure where) as it's been quite a few years since i've owned an XD/E.

1988 EA Falcon Sedan
EB II 4.0L Engine Conversion
T5 Manual Trans
EB II 3.27:1 LSD
108.4rwkw
:td:

If they had black box recorders in Commodores, the final words would be "watch this bro!"
EVL-TE is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-27-03, 03:18 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 24
Re: Change XE GL Dash to S/Pack Dash

Thanks for your replies.I remember years ago converting an XA falcon cluster to a GT cluster.As I recall,the wiring for the tacho was already built in to the loom. All I had to do was peel back the wrap-around tape (at the coil end) and crimp a connector on to the end,then just plug in to the "-" of the coil.Tacho worked!.Mind you ,I also had to change the wiring loom on the dash and use the GT loom.
jb71 is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-29-04, 02:48 AM
XY Ute
 
Wolf159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 71
Question Re: Change XE GL Dash to S/Pack Dash

While on the subject, could i replace the dash on my ZJ fairlane with an XD or XE Spack dash?
Wolf159 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XE dash -> XF? OverDose Interior | Electrical | ECU 7 09-22-04 08:32 PM
XE dash light XE V8 Interior | Electrical | ECU 1 09-22-03 08:24 PM
BA Falcon Interior Reveal RPO83 Ford Worldwide News 5 09-16-03 06:12 PM
GL dash in S-pack XF YellowXF Interior | Electrical | ECU 3 05-12-03 04:35 AM
Eb dash Change AU1SIXA Interior | Electrical | ECU 2 03-01-02 08:14 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome