Checking TPS Sensor - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2003, 00:48   #1 (permalink)
Beasty EA
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Age: 28
Posts: 279
frown Checking TPS Sensor

Howdie!!

Was recently checking the TPS Sensor due to a Flat Spot my car has and the specs that we have say:
When the ECU 48 Terminal is closed, you should get a reading of 1 Volt.
When the ECU 48 terminal is open, you should get a reading of 4.5 Volts.

The reading i am receiving is the other way around.
On open i get 1 Volt and on closed i get 4.5 Volts.

Does anyone know what we are doing wrong or why our reading is reversed?

Hope you guys can help.
Cheers.
Pazza is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-01-2003, 00:54   #2 (permalink)
Village Idiot
 
EFJase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Perth, WA
Age: 30
Posts: 2,526
Re: Checking TPS Sensor

Dont know about voltages, but when mine went i just pulled it apart and washed it in wd40 and turps.
That fixed it up.

Where did u get that info from?
__________________
TPC Mod/henchman
previous rides;
1st car EA Fairmont Ghia, extractors, exhaust
2nd EF GLi, 'custom' interior, extractors, exhuast
3rd EA Fairmont 5spd, low'd, extractors, exhuast, head
work, 3.45LSD, EL dash, interior+ El ECU
4th EB2 Fairmont, EL dash and interior, BBM, LSD etc etc
5th EB Fairmont Ghia 5L. All leather, lowered, exhaust etc
EFJase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 00:57   #3 (permalink)
Beasty EA
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Age: 28
Posts: 279
Re: Checking TPS Sensor

Guys, i seriously need you help. Has anyone suffered from the same problem!!!!!
Open to all suggestions!
Pazza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2003, 04:49   #4 (permalink)
Beasty EA
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Age: 28
Posts: 279
Re: Checking TPS Sensor

Comon peeps!!!!!!
Pazza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 13:23   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: 27 00S 153 07E
Posts: 1,944
Re: Checking TPS Sensor

Quote:
my car
Pazza,

Might help if we knew what sort of car you are talking about, as our resident mind reader is on holidays. :)
__________________
"I married Miss Right. I just didn't know her first name was Always."
TopGhia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 16:20   #6 (permalink)
Beasty EA
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Age: 28
Posts: 279
Re: Checking TPS Sensor

Hehe, sorry guys. By the way My car is a EA Ford CFI, 5 speed manual.
Pazza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2003, 11:57   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: 27 00S 153 07E
Posts: 1,944
Re: Checking TPS Sensor

OK, first the TPS uses a 5 volt reference wire, an earth wire and a signal wire, most of the time the signal wire is the middle one.

Here is what you do - first take the negative lead from the Multi-meter, attach to the negative battery post.

Key On Engine Off, take the positive lead and back probe the TPS. You
may need a paper clip for this, choose one of the outside wires. Voltage should be about 5V or 0V depending on which wire you are testing. Do the same to the other outside wire, the readings should be reversed from each other.

Do you have different readings between the two? If you have about 5V on both you have a bad earth. If you have 0V or almost 0V on both you have + supply problems.

Now if both of those seem good on to the next step. Now move your paper clip to the centre wire, make sure it is down in there, sometimes it is hard to get it all the way in to get a good connection. Now attach your + lead to that wire, it should read about .5V to 1.0V, now slowly open the throtle to WOT, <b>watch your meter closely,</b> there should be a steady rise in voltage up to about 4.5V, if it looks like it may be losing voltage at some point, try it again to make sure. If it is then you will need a new TPS.

If your power and earths are good and you have no voltage from signal wire you will need a new TPS.
If all checks out then you might have wiring problems.

cheers
__________________
"I married Miss Right. I just didn't know her first name was Always."

Last edited by TopGhia; 09-05-2003 at 12:37.
TopGhia is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TPS males EL Auto go nuts! psproule Trans | Driveline 3 09-30-2003 14:09
Oxygen Sensor! the_scotsman General Tech 3 11-05-2002 02:36
Water Sensor DansEdgli General Tech 7 07-06-2002 03:23
Understanding Engine Management - Part 1 Dan [Sac] V6 and Hot4 Tech 0 12-11-2001 13:08

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:53.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.