dash electrics - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-17-06, 09:13 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
sleeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: melton , vic
Age: 48
Posts: 49
dash electrics

can cruise control and climate control be fitted to a AUIII forte 6 , without new wiring ? or do you need a new loom ?

sleeper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-18-06, 03:56 AM
Registered User
 
jas24zzk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wandin, Vic
Age: 43
Posts: 827
Re: dash electrics

Dunno,
but to find out...find a wreckers with one that has em fitted. Find the control units and identify the plugs in the looms.
Then compare to see if those are on yours.
I have seen it on earlier cars where some had the provision some didn't.

Other than that, its aftermarket...and who wants that.

Jas
jas24zzk is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-18-06, 03:57 AM
Registered User
 
jas24zzk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wandin, Vic
Age: 43
Posts: 827
Re: dash electrics

2nd thought...
isn't the cruise on these steering wheel mounted?
If so, even if you had all the plugs in the loom, you'd need a new column and wheel.

JAs
jas24zzk is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-18-06, 04:19 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
sleeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: melton , vic
Age: 48
Posts: 49
Re: dash electrics

Quote:
Originally Posted by jas24zzk
2nd thought...
isn't the cruise on these steering wheel mounted?
If so, even if you had all the plugs in the loom, you'd need a new column and wheel.

JAs
yeah im going to install an xr8 steering wheel dont know if that will help , somebody told me that series IIIs all had the same looms to save time on the production line , might call ford thanks anyway
sleeper is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-19-06, 03:30 AM
Registered User
 
jas24zzk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wandin, Vic
Age: 43
Posts: 827
Re: dash electrics

Let us know how you go with Ford.
I reckon you may have to go hunting the wrecking yards to eyeball what you need to have in place.

Then again, you could always buy a written off car and swap everything you need.

Jas
jas24zzk is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-19-06, 03:20 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
sleeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: melton , vic
Age: 48
Posts: 49
Re: dash electrics

Quote:
Originally Posted by jas24zzk
Let us know how you go with Ford.
I reckon you may have to go hunting the wrecking yards to eyeball what you need to have in place.

Then again, you could always buy a written off car and swap everything you need.

Jas
that would be my last option , but if thats the only way , so be it . thanks again
sleeper is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-20-06, 05:14 AM
Registered User
 
jas24zzk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wandin, Vic
Age: 43
Posts: 827
Re: dash electrics

Ya know, sometimes the 'only way' is the cheapest.

Jas
jas24zzk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome