Digital Dash? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Insurance Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2002, 00:07   #1 (permalink)
Well Paid, Trained Monkey
oz_orion's Avatar
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sydney
Age: 36
Posts: 123
Digital Dash?

I noticed an ad in the Sydney trading post this week that mentioned an EA with a digital dash? Is there a standard digital dash option for the EA? I've got an analogue dash in my car currently, but would it be possible to pick up the digital equivalent and install it, or does it go a lot deeper then just the dash panel?

My first car had a digital dash and I have to admit I miss it.

Madness takes its toll... please have exact change.
oz_orion is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-20-2002, 05:56   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 64
Yes they do exist... I think they came out on the fairmont? I know they definetly did come out though, and im sure you could plug it straight in, being an electronic dash... thats something i was wondering about too, if you got a GL dash, can you put in a falcon S or Fairmont dash with a tacho and have it work straight up?
daihat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2002, 08:09   #3 (permalink)
Posts: n/a
Going from the GL Cluster to the S cluster, you *may* need a new oil pressure sensor... Going from the S cluster to the Digital cluster, you may need to do alot of wiring, depending on whether or not the plug is back there... Go down to a wreckers and tell em ya wanna try it first, rip your current one out and put the digital in... See if it works.

*Side Note* Just hooking up the wiring loom from Gl/S into the Digital dash will NOT make it work...
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2002, 10:01   #4 (permalink)
Posts: n/a
No, its not just a drop in option for the digital dash. The fairmont/S and GL dash has only 2 wiring connectors whereas the ghia digital dash has 3. You have to completely remove the connectors and rewire ALL connections. Its a tedious task but im glad i did it. The digital dash is far better than the GL - although i think the digital dash should have had the extra 2 guages (oil press & voltage) as well. There are a few small problems thaT aries with the vechile outline and the tacho, but all can be fixed with a lil extra wiring. :)

  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2002, 12:16   #5 (permalink)
Posts: n/a
Hey Brent79, do you by chance have all the pinouts to make the digital work? If you do, I'd really appreciate them! :D
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2002, 12:26   #6 (permalink)
Posts: n/a
Acid, i just followed the gregory's wiring diagrams for the GL and Ghia dash. I dont have the pinouts for the connectors im sorry.

  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2002, 12:43   #7 (permalink)
Posts: n/a
That's alright mate, I have the gregories manual too, I'l go through it and work them all out :D
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2002, 11:09   #8 (permalink)
Posts: n/a
Digital Dash

through from 88-94 (EA-ED) which model and year had the digital dash? was it only in fairmonts and fairmont ghia's?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2002, 11:18   #9 (permalink)
400 kg ego
Troutman's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,188
Re: Digital Dash

To my knowledge the following sedans and wagons had the digital dash:

EA Fairmont GhiaEB series I FairmontEB series I Fairmont Ghia

NA-NC II Fairlane
Jack Travis, E-Series Acting President

1989 Ford Fairmont Ghia turbo/GL replica (underway)
1994 Eunos 800M
1990 Ford Laser S
Troutman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S pak to digital fairmont/fairlane dash b-juggles Interior | Electrical | ECU 0 02-14-2003 23:29
Can an XF Ghia Digital Dash fit into a XF S Pak? Extreme_2020 Interior | Electrical | ECU 12 11-04-2002 02:03
Ford, suppliers search the dial for better sound with digital radio Stacy94PGT Ford Worldwide News 0 10-25-2002 09:07
Digital Dash AcidBurns Interior | Electrical | ECU 19 05-15-2002 06:53

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:04.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.