Driving light help PLZ - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2005, 22:45   #1 (permalink)
Country Boy Rippin it up!
 
GTFORDMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Muswellbrook, NSW
Age: 34
Posts: 135
Driving light help PLZ

hi ive just brought a set of driving lights (100w) for my EA Falcon, i know how to set up a simple circut but im not sure how to set it up so it comes one with my high beams a bit embarrassing.

can anyone point me in the right direction
GTFORDMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-15-2005, 23:55   #2 (permalink)
74 XB Fairmont
 
brenx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cranbourne, Vic
Posts: 5,113
Re: Driving light help PLZ

Possibly on the high beam side of the loom a wire. There may be a green wire. Most of the time it's green. It does vary though. You should be able to run driving lights from there as the car most likely already has the factory relays.
__________________
XB Fairmont (street car) 11.07@123.02mph.
brenx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 01:38   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Country NSW
Posts: 268
Re: Driving light help PLZ

Most driving light kits come with a relay. Two 100W globes will pull 16.6amp @12V; I wouldn't personally wire this to the high beam as the current will be addition to the normal high beam.

Instead use the high beam power lead to trigger the relay. The power for the driving lights then is pulled from an additional wire connected to the battery terminal (+ve) through the relay and then to the lights. The other lead from each bulb is earthed.
silicon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 05:59   #4 (permalink)
NB & NCII V8 Fairlanes
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Bibra Lake Western Australia
Posts: 2,836
Re: Driving light help PLZ

If you don't want a melted wiring harness (or risk and engine bay fire) you must use relays.
See http://www.nowroc.com/Webpages/Techtips/H4s/H4.htm and
http://www.redoxide.com/Defender/mod_driving_lights.asp and
http://www.gadgetjq.com/wiredrivinglights.htm and
http://www.offroaders.com/info/tech-corner/lightforce/ and
http://www.tr6web.com/Documents/tr6/auxlightsPIC.html and
http://www.timcamerondesign.com.au/driving_lights.htm and
http://www.exploroz.com/feature/Driv...ts/default.asp

for tips and diagrams
__________________
Regards Blue
Aussiblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 06:03   #5 (permalink)
74 XB Fairmont
 
brenx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cranbourne, Vic
Posts: 5,113
Re: Driving light help PLZ

Guys the factory loom will already have the relays there. Even XF's had them sitting there unused. My EL's also got the relay sitting there all wired up but unused.

I used XF relays in my XB. If their isn't a relay add one but their should be a factory one already there
__________________
XB Fairmont (street car) 11.07@123.02mph.
brenx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 00:38   #6 (permalink)
Country Boy Rippin it up!
 
GTFORDMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Muswellbrook, NSW
Age: 34
Posts: 135
Re: Driving light help PLZ

wow, thanx heaps fellas, i should have em up n running in no time :)
GTFORDMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2005, 02:53   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
12volt_king's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 11
Re: Driving light help PLZ

Even if the relay is there. DO NOT use it. Stock High beam is what? 60 watts? times that by 2 and you have 120 watts. thats around 8.2 amps already. Add onto that 13.8 @ 14.4 Volts gives you 22.1A the stock Ford relays are rated 20A. THEN on top of that, the headlight wiring isn't capable of that sort of current SAFELY mind you, the fuse won't like it either.

Use a relay to power the spotlights, triggered by a feed from the highbeams. Throw away the power wire that came with the lights and add in some decent power cable. Don't forget to fuse the power line coming from the battery.
__________________
Check all advice given with a multimeter.

If you see the Snap-On man, tell him I'm not here.

MECP Master Class Installer (US Qualification)
12volt_king is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2005, 03:03   #8 (permalink)
74 XB Fairmont
 
brenx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cranbourne, Vic
Posts: 5,113
Re: Driving light help PLZ

What it should have is :

1* 30amp low beam
1* 40amp high beam
1* 40amp driving lights

there should be three relays factory.
__________________
XB Fairmont (street car) 11.07@123.02mph.
brenx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:22.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.