EA Dash Lights - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-05-02, 02:39 AM
EA Fairmont
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
EA Dash Lights

Is it possible to change the colour of the dash lights in an EA Fairmont (Non Digital Dash)????????? I saw the dash mods at ef-falcon.tk and want to change my dash colour.

 
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-05-02, 04:52 AM
Phat Drift Damage Victim
 
XplodEd EA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brissy
Age: 32
Posts: 985
There's a couple of ways to do it, the cheapest way to do it is just buy the sleeves from repco/autobarn/seupercheap etc. that go over your current globes.

You can get rid of the bulbs completely and go for LED's. It costs a bit more but it is a tiny bit brighter.

You can only really change the colour to shades of red/orange/yellow, blue doesnt work cos the letters are yellow, it turns out a really light purple colour that is barely seeable on the instrument cluster. You can change all the other dash lights to any colour you desire tho.

I've done mine in Red LED's, there's a few threads around about this so have a look around.

Ed
Phat Drift Damaged Cobalt Blue 1994 EF XR8 5 spd
Fully optioned - Sunroof, cruise, body kit
Stock as a Rock for the moment

TQE's
XplodEd EA is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-06-02, 06:23 AM
Registered User
 
Eu-GenixX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brisbane, Qld
Posts: 148
i've put red sleeves over my dash lights...as well as over most of the lights throughout the cabin...just gotta by some bigger ones to complete it..

but all in all..it's a pretty good look
i did try blue...but couldn't see anything ...
red is nice tho...

Sunrice! Yes, it's rice.

It's pronounced Yewjennicks.
Eu-GenixX is offline  
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-06-02, 06:27 AM
EA Fairmont
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
cool thanx guys, i shall go get some tommorow from autobarn
 
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-06-02, 07:36 PM
E-Series Acting VP
 
Thanatos's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Melbourne
Age: 35
Posts: 1,432
Just be aware that if you have a trip computer you will have a hell of a time keeping it red...

I have to replace the red sleeve on my trip computer globe every month or two, because the bloody thing burns all of the colour out of the sleeve.


Dave


Thanatos is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-07-02, 04:51 AM
Phat Drift Damage Victim
 
XplodEd EA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brissy
Age: 32
Posts: 985
Chuck a LED in it instead

Ed
Phat Drift Damaged Cobalt Blue 1994 EF XR8 5 spd
Fully optioned - Sunroof, cruise, body kit
Stock as a Rock for the moment

TQE's
XplodEd EA is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-08-02, 04:26 PM
E-Series Acting VP
 
Thanatos's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Melbourne
Age: 35
Posts: 1,432
Quote:
Chuck a LED in it instead
Yeah, I will... but there's so many other mods to do, and so little time...

*sighs*



Dave


Thanatos is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-11-02, 07:15 PM
Veteran Ford Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Lamb on Chapel, Chapel Street.
Age: 30
Posts: 2,893
You can also buy that type of globe dyed red. I forgot the brand name and stuff but it is usually stocked at AutoBarn right next to the sleeves.

Sundeep
Sundeep is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-12-02, 04:26 AM
Formerly EAII_Fairmont
 
AUII_Forte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Dubbo NSW
Age: 32
Posts: 917
I saw something about replacing the colour filters behind the LCD screens in an EF/EL. Does the same principal apply for an EA Fairmont Ghia?? I'm adding little bits pieces to my car slowly and I'm going all out blue. I think the LCD's would look awesome like this!! I guess from the previous posts, that I would have to leave the tacho, fuel gauge and temp gauge as they are though. :(

1992 AXII Telstar TX5 Ghia

121kW 2.5L DOHC V6 in a car that weighs 1100kg's and looks like a 4 banger from the outside......SLEEPER!

1988 EA S Pak 3spd CFI.....Soon to be a 250rwkw HSV eating machine.
Latest update......MPFI!!
AUII_Forte is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-12-02, 04:32 AM
Registered User
 
EB2Ghia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 695
ok how would you replace a globe with a LED..... what do you need to do. wirimg digram would be great.
EB2Ghia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dash lights in EA Fairmont Ghia RossD Interior | Electrical | ECU 2 12-24-03 11:14 AM
EB Smartlock instrument dash Replacment with EA Spack AU1SIXA Interior | Electrical | ECU 2 11-15-03 11:42 PM
EA dash into EBII? jim5_0 Interior | Electrical | ECU 5 09-30-03 03:18 AM
Dash lights brenlam Interior | Electrical | ECU 8 03-24-03 03:54 AM
EA GHIA dash not working Falcon kid Interior | Electrical | ECU 6 02-14-03 07:13 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome