EA GHIA dash not working - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2003, 20:10   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NSW/act
Posts: 114
frown EA GHIA dash not working

Hello,
Im wondering if you's be able to help me.
Ive got a EA GHIA digital dash and when i turn the key on my dash isn't lighting up(eg) the speedo,trip computer and the climent control don't light up to its orange self.
It all happen when a positive wire touched the negative wire for the lamps when you open the doors and some how this has stuff the lighting for the dash.
Someone sad it could be a box under the dash which control the lighting setting and i might need a new one of them ?
Ive checked all the fusses there fine,i don't know if there be a fusible link somewhere for the dash ?
__________________
90% of Holdens made in the last 10 years are still on the road. The other 10% made it home
Falcon kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-30-2003, 13:52   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Shepparton, Victoria
Age: 31
Posts: 229
Do all the interior lights still work? does all the LCD's still work but there's no light behind them? There is only a fuse in the fusebox for the dash lights. If you turn on your parkers, does this light up the front of your dash?
__________________
EA Fairmont Ghia : 3.9L MPFI, 2.5" cat back sports exhaust, K&N panel filter. Pioneer head unit, pioneer 4" three way fronts, Pioneer 6" 3 way rears, 2x 12" subs, blue interior light.
My main pride and joy : '76 XB Fairmont GS, 250CI, 140,000 Km and all stock.... for now! (Factory air-con on the way)
SilverEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2003, 16:27   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NSW/act
Posts: 114
.Yep when i turn on the Parker's,the interior lights come on.

Normally when you turn your key on the speedo lights up heater control and the trip computer but they don't light up and when you press search on the trip computer it don't work either so there's something going on somewhere.

Yeah i can still see the speedo but the lights aint working behind it its just doll white and climate control still works but you cant see nothing on the screen and the trip computer well when u press it dont do nothing.

So there must be something that controls the lighting to the tripcomputer speedo and climate control. ?

What have i done to her ?
__________________
90% of Holdens made in the last 10 years are still on the road. The other 10% made it home
Falcon kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2003, 17:08   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Shepparton, Victoria
Age: 31
Posts: 229
Hmmm... All the globes in the dash should run from one power source. i will have a look on the weekend and get back to ya on monday ok? There should still be a display on the lcd of the trip computer, if not, disconnect it and see what happens. Other than that, I will see what i can come up with over the weekend for you...
__________________
EA Fairmont Ghia : 3.9L MPFI, 2.5" cat back sports exhaust, K&N panel filter. Pioneer head unit, pioneer 4" three way fronts, Pioneer 6" 3 way rears, 2x 12" subs, blue interior light.
My main pride and joy : '76 XB Fairmont GS, 250CI, 140,000 Km and all stock.... for now! (Factory air-con on the way)
SilverEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2003, 20:46   #5 (permalink)
EB wagon
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 8 Mile Plains, Brisbane
Posts: 932
Yeah, sounds like yer central controller aint workin properly.. Does your power arial go up and down fully?? do the interior lights dimm and all? The LCD's on the dash and climate are controlled by the central controller... I didnt think the trip comp was tho... hmmm... maybe its just blown the bulb in that. Id check the central controller 1st...

Brent
__________________
EB1 3.9L MPI Falcon Wagon with converted T5 / Pacemaker & 2.5" Redback sports exhaust / 2" lowered blocks at the rear, Kings lows up front / ED Tickford Head and Cam / K&N panel filter with XH intake Snorkel / Full EL Fairmont interior with woodgrain

89 EA1 3.9L TBI Falcon Sedan with 3 speed auto / currently being upgraded...
Brent79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2003, 14:33   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Shepparton, Victoria
Age: 31
Posts: 229
The only thing the backlights for the lcd's run off is the central controller. After shorting that, you could have a problem with it. Check you have all you power going to this unit and see what you have out. If you have voltage going to it in all the right spots, and not out, i would suspect the module......
__________________
EA Fairmont Ghia : 3.9L MPFI, 2.5" cat back sports exhaust, K&N panel filter. Pioneer head unit, pioneer 4" three way fronts, Pioneer 6" 3 way rears, 2x 12" subs, blue interior light.
My main pride and joy : '76 XB Fairmont GS, 250CI, 140,000 Km and all stock.... for now! (Factory air-con on the way)
SilverEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2003, 06:13   #7 (permalink)
Addicted User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 65
I had a same problem with the dash in a NA fairlane, so I wired the parkers to stay on all the time, like a volvo saved alot of time and money and if you believe some people alot safer to drive with them on all the time anyway
ondori is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EA Ghia Cruise Control Not Working Kall General Tech 9 03-19-2009 03:44
dash lights in EA Fairmont Ghia RossD Interior | Electrical | ECU 2 12-24-2003 10:14
ea ghia dash into ed BOON250 Interior | Electrical | ECU 0 09-28-2003 21:52
BA Falcon Interior Reveal RPO83 Ford Worldwide News 5 09-16-2003 18:12
My EA Ghia Dash - Your Opinion. Dellboy999 Interior | Electrical | ECU 5 06-01-2003 22:26

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:33.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.