ED Trip Computer - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2004, 03:14   #1 (permalink)
ignorance is bliss
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: warrnambool
Posts: 281
ED Trip Computer

Would like to fit trip comp to my Futura Classic. Have pulled clock etc out and doesnt appear to be a plug there for it. Car has S Pac dash cruise etc.
Mate at the wreckers reckons all falcons had the loom for it but think I read somewhere this is not neccessarily true. Does anyone know if the plug could be tucked away out of sight or if its a big drama to add in the piece of loom from another car?
clevokid is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-05-2004, 03:20   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
EDSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Adelaide S.A.
Age: 48
Posts: 45
Re: ED Trip Computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevokid
Would like to fit trip comp to my Futura Classic. Have pulled clock etc out and doesnt appear to be a plug there for it. Car has S Pac dash cruise etc.
Mate at the wreckers reckons all falcons had the loom for it but think I read somewhere this is not neccessarily true. Does anyone know if the plug could be tucked away out of sight or if its a big drama to add in the piece of loom from another car?
There is no loom. If you want to add a trip comp there is about 4 (I think) wirers to be added. The hardest part of the job is taking the dash apart.
__________________
:fly:
EDSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2004, 03:24   #3 (permalink)
Experimental Racer#6
 
TIKFD6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Wodonga Vic
Age: 41
Posts: 8,204
Re: ED Trip Computer

Your better off getting the plug and about a foot of loom fom a Fairmont, and extendint the wires you need to.
TIKFD6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2004, 03:41   #4 (permalink)
ignorance is bliss
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: warrnambool
Posts: 281
Re: ED Trip Computer

Thanks for the advice, have already got the computer itself so will go back and see if theres a wreck with the plug and loom still in it. I gather the computer loom contains the clock wiring as well?
clevokid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2004, 13:04   #5 (permalink)
Experimental Racer#6
 
TIKFD6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Wodonga Vic
Age: 41
Posts: 8,204
Re: ED Trip Computer

Yes, if you need a wiring diagram PM me.
TIKFD6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 18:14   #6 (permalink)
1010100011000.11001100
 
jimmy_c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: :-P
Age: 30
Posts: 403
Re: ED Trip Computer

its not hard to do, you dont need to take the dash fully out.


but you do need to run a few wires.

1 to the ecu, 2 to the wire connector for the instriment cluster and the rest you can use of the radio harness or the clock
__________________
BA Fairmont Ghia Blue Pearl , 3V V8
AU Fairmont Ghia Gold, VCT I6 , GAS
jimmy_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 22:51   #7 (permalink)
Officially Bored with 347
 
svo347's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Perth West Oz
Age: 41
Posts: 3,585
Re: ED Trip Computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by TIKFD6
Your better off getting the plug and about a foot of loom fom a Fairmont, and extendint the wires you need to.
I see your typing skills hasnt improved with over 6000 posts kerry
You be better off getting the wires out of a wreck mate.. The Ford specific loom is worth $300 odd smackers!!
__________________
FORD.... "POWER TO THE PEOPLE"...

Member of the "TKTDSGM " Group..
svo347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 22:53   #8 (permalink)
Officially Bored with 347
 
svo347's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Perth West Oz
Age: 41
Posts: 3,585
Re: ED Trip Computer

Errrrr make that 7500 odd posts .. you postwhore..
__________________
FORD.... "POWER TO THE PEOPLE"...

Member of the "TKTDSGM " Group..
svo347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2004, 02:40   #9 (permalink)
Experimental Racer#6
 
TIKFD6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Wodonga Vic
Age: 41
Posts: 8,204
Re: ED Trip Computer

Hahahah was gunna say
TIKFD6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Range on Trip computer says "0" ben Interior | Electrical | ECU 5 08-24-2004 01:09
Trip Computer xh ute mattxr8 Interior | Electrical | ECU 6 07-27-2004 03:54
ef trip computer ged Interior | Electrical | ECU 3 09-03-2003 12:43
home made trip computer Wazza80-99 Australian Falcons 0 07-31-2003 18:44

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:31.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.