EF interior into EA - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2003, 00:53   #1 (permalink)
formerly sikEA
 
old_mate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sydney
Age: 30
Posts: 2,142
EF interior into EA

hey all

Im having big problems finding a good dash for the EA, wreckers ones are as badly cracked as mine

What im planning to do is put a EF interior in it.

I know the seats need modification......but will do that part later. What i need to know now is the dash shell going to bolt in? and how hard is it to adapt the EF aircon switches to my EA stuff? As for the instruments, i dunno how im going to go about that, was possibly going to use my original instruments in the EF binnacle with the aid of fibreglass.....but not sure if the actual units will fit (havent measured up yet)

Im assuming its a mega pain in the arse to fit the EF instruments??? Also planning to install EF console, handbrake....and maybe trims if they dont line up with my EA ones

Any comments appreciated
__________________
EL Fairmont
XY Fairmont


...mmm clevo...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sundeep
And Yagz, come back in six months faggot
old_mate is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-20-2003, 23:02   #2 (permalink)
Death to Camry's!
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Adelaide, SA
Age: 32
Posts: 1,375
Re: EF interior into EA

The dash should bolt in, using hte gauges and what not will be the pain in the backside. the trims from an EA will look stupid against an EF dash IMO, may as well go the whole hog if your going to do it, otherwise just ignore the dash and put the rest in, otherwise get an ED dash, because they seem to blend in a bit better with the EF/EL door trims than the EA stuff...

or just do what i did, buy an EF lol.
MightyEFGhia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2003, 00:01   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sutherland
Posts: 48
Re: EF interior into EA

If its just the dash being cracked take it into a 4wd custom consol place and get them to re-skin it, it will be alot cheeper, cost around $300 and save alot of stuffing around. Just get them to re-skin it in the same colour as the ef dash that you were going to put in.

Thats my plan anyway. I'm planing on doing something simular to my ea.
slowjud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 22:47   #4 (permalink)
EB wagon
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 8 Mile Plains, Brisbane
Posts: 932
Hey Garth,

I agree with the other boys. The dash will bolt in cept you'd be getting nightmares from the amount of wiring youd need to modify. You would have to re-wire just about everything and even then you might get problems with guages. The EF+ instrument cluster is also more integrated with its electronics than the ED's so i dont know how that would go. Anyone done this mod???

Brent
__________________
EB1 3.9L MPI Falcon Wagon with converted T5 / Pacemaker & 2.5" Redback sports exhaust / 2" lowered blocks at the rear, Kings lows up front / ED Tickford Head and Cam / K&N panel filter with XH intake Snorkel / Full EL Fairmont interior with woodgrain

89 EA1 3.9L TBI Falcon Sedan with 3 speed auto / currently being upgraded...
Brent79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2003, 02:56   #5 (permalink)
formerly sikEA
 
old_mate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sydney
Age: 30
Posts: 2,142
Re: EF interior into EA

Thanks guys

has anyone had a direct comparison of the two instrument clusters and air con controls? What are the different inputs? Im reasonably good with wiring and stuff, so a little modification doesnt worry me, but if I gotta start swapping mega shit from EF to EA to get the EF instruments to work im not going to bother. Its not as easy as splicing those nice EF guages into my original EA inputs is it??? hehehe
__________________
EL Fairmont
XY Fairmont


...mmm clevo...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sundeep
And Yagz, come back in six months faggot
old_mate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2003, 03:00   #6 (permalink)
formerly sikEA
 
old_mate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sydney
Age: 30
Posts: 2,142
Re: EF interior into EA

note that if i wasnt so damn busy with college i would get my arse off to a wrecker myself.......
__________________
EL Fairmont
XY Fairmont


...mmm clevo...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sundeep
And Yagz, come back in six months faggot
old_mate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2003, 04:01   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sutherland
Posts: 48
Re: EF interior into EA

i thought about changing the instruments, but the easyest way to get it to work seemed to be change the computer and re-wire the whole lot. EL/F have data lines, which the EA-D don't. Not an easy mod, but if you where changing over the whole dash would be as big a deal.
If you check out the fordmods website www.fordmods.com they have all the pinouts for the clusters.
slowjud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2003, 04:26   #8 (permalink)
{';'}
 
XRated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: A Shoe
Age: 30
Posts: 4,356
Dunno how you expect to rig up the handbrake... Have you considered checking the dash from a ute? I don't know the model names for utes yet!! I mean, the EF type ute... Anyway, if you could find the dash from a ute that has a bench seat, it might make life easier considering the location of the handbrake?

(This is just all theory, I haven't seen any of this in detail).

My two cents...
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sundeep
Eh Yagz, suck my left teste mate I'll have boost for $1k, even if it is only 1 pound.

Check my ride, HERE
XRated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2003, 04:28   #9 (permalink)
BA'o'Matic 100% working.
 
Dellboy999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Victoria
Age: 43
Posts: 3,838
Re: EF interior into EA

XH was the last E series ute made.

Dellboy999.
Dellboy999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2003, 06:09   #10 (permalink)
formerly sikEA
 
old_mate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sydney
Age: 30
Posts: 2,142
Re: EF interior into EA

Handbrake would be easiest part i reckon

Involves drilling of a coupla holes....thats it.....

Am thinking about buying dash and just bolting in Autometer gear......Speedo, tacho, volts, fuel, oil temp and pressure

boost :)


hahaha, if only i had the money
__________________
EL Fairmont
XY Fairmont


...mmm clevo...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sundeep
And Yagz, come back in six months faggot
old_mate is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EA vs EF, EL, AU Steve General Tech 17 04-16-2005 06:59
EA speedo in EF. 50LtCapri Interior | Electrical | ECU 1 09-29-2003 05:42
Boot Carpet EF into EA Dellboy999 Interior | Electrical | ECU 0 06-15-2003 18:36
EF altenator on a EA EA falcon man General Tech 7 05-18-2003 05:04
EF & EA Gearbox and associated parts Cancerman Trans | Driveline 0 03-25-2003 08:24

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:41.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.