Electric Aerial for AU2 - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 01-14-03, 01:46 AM Thread Starter
TS 40
StevenAU2's Avatar
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mt Annan NSW
Age: 40
Posts: 342
Electric Aerial for AU2

Does anyone have a pic of the switch for an elec aerial in the series2 AU??? This is the switch that allows you to lower and raise the aerial to the height you wish.Does the aerial automatically lower when u turn the car off????
Some PR^@K broke my aerial off and id like to replace it with an electric one,but i dont like the ones that go all the way up when u turn the car on.
StevenAU2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 01-14-03, 02:40 AM
AU3 Falcon XR8 Ute (auto)
Steve_T's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: NT, Australia
Posts: 357
The switch you speak of is actually just a 'half-height' switch (on/off style). Unfortunatly, the low-series BEM which comes in the Forte does not have the antenna control functionality. Ususlly, in mid/high-series systems, the headunit puts out the antenna signal to the BEM (it only gives the antenna up signal when the stereo is turned on AND in radio mode (ie. in CD/tape/radio off, the antenna is down). It is the BEM which then drives the antenna motor. The BEM can put the antenna up to either full or half height, depending on the position of the half-height switch. (Only high-series cars have the switch, but since the mid/high series BEM is the same, you can just buy a switch and plug it straight in if you have a mid-series car). Anyway, this means to get a factory antenna setup, you'd have to get a high-series BEM, but the other problem is the low-series head unit may not have an antenna control signal either, so in other words, the easy way would just be to get the antenna (factory or otherwise) and wire it up to your own two-way up/down switch to control it manually).

Hope that helps.
Steve_T is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 11-19-07, 05:00 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Re: Electric Aerial for AU2

hi does anyone know what voltage triggers the electric areial in a au 2 fairmont. i replaced the 6 stacker with a pionner head unit but the radio dont work cause it has no wire for it. i tryed bridging the wires at the back of the switch on the dash but i had no luck cheers
mr_superbird is offline  
Sponsored Links

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ford to sell Norwegian electric car subsidiary Stacy94PGT Ford Worldwide News 0 12-19-02 11:54 PM
Calif. company bids for unplugged Ford electric car unit Stacy94PGT Ford Worldwide News 0 10-31-02 07:28 PM
telstar aerial probs ninety_sixer Audio And Security 3 08-21-02 07:02 PM
Selling out: The real reason automakers want you to buy electric Stacy94PGT Ford Worldwide News 0 05-20-02 12:18 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome