Ford Forums banner

electric thermatic fan on pre EF

5K views 27 replies 17 participants last post by  BOF 
#1 ·
Has anyone installed a electric fan to replace the crappy noisy KW robbing engine driven fan that is in all falcons before EF's

i've got an eb2 and i'm sick of the thing cutting in all the time on a hot day i reccon it must chop away at least 40kw

been seeking advice on turfin the thing and putting in a couple elecrtic ones but everyone seams to be trying to talk me out of it.

Any input to this matter would be cool!

#2 ·
I got rid of the belt driven fan and installed two electric fans as soon as I bought my ED XR8. You will be amazed at the difference. I was also told not to due to the possible failure of electric fans, but I have been running mine for over two years without problems. I also think, that if they weren't reliable, then Ford and all other car makers wouldn't be putting them on all new cars. Go for it.

#3 ·
Hi there StickyChicken,

I too have been runing electric thermo's for about 4 years on my EDXR8 with wild combo and have no problems at all.
I also have developed a wiring harness for under 100 bucks that I now sell which compliments the thermofans in all control aspects.
If you want I can e-mail you the details if you want.
It uses relay logic and failsafe mode. also incorporates aircon control and on signal from the cars e.c.u.
It was the use of davey craige controllers and thermoswitches that led me to my own development of the harness.
Any way, I think I have said enough.
N.B have fitted about 7 kits to XR's

Barry

#4 ·
that sounds good....is it much work pulling out the old fan... that's something that stopped me from doing it myself looked complicated.

i got a street machine mag that has a how to on it but they did it on a commodore and that looked very different

but that sounds very smart though hooking it into the ECU

i'm an elecrtician actually so that part i understand but not big on working on cars at all