getting the whole Dash out of an XF? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-28-02, 06:23 AM Thread Starter
Finnaly back
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: WA
Age: 15
Posts: 1,124
getting the whole Dash out of an XF?

yeah, I do mean the whole dash not the cluster, I dont have that book, but how many bolts are there?
Chad_XF is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-28-02, 06:47 AM Thread Starter
Finnaly back
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: WA
Age: 15
Posts: 1,124
Also is it a problem putting a Fairmont Ghia dash (the whole thing) into a falcon? like it should be all good right?



1 of 10 Fords
Chad_XF is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-29-02, 05:24 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne's West
Age: 51
Posts: 407
XF Dash Change

Bastard of a job - had to do it to replace the heater core in my Ghia once. Dash comes out as a complete assembly

In brief(?):

Remove hood release, drop handbrake down

Loosen toe plate screws on steering column, unbolt column bracket from pedal box, drop column onto seat

Remove Speaker grills at lower corners of dash

Remove console

Remove surround from around radio (4 self tappers on Ghia)

Remove bolts from lower corners of dash that go into right angle brackets

Remove 2 bolts from lower centre of dash (under radio)

Remove 5 screws from demister vents

Tilt dash back, disconnect all wires, vac hoses etc. MARK ALL CONNECTORS BEFORE PULLING APART!!! There are two very similar connectors near the steering column (I think they came from it!) that will fit into each other. If you get them arse about IT CAUSES FRIED WIRES!!!! Be warned!!! (had to replace some wires under my dash as a result....)

Ensure earth leads on right hand side are disconnected - don't forget to reconnect it!

It's an awkward sucker so get a mate to help you lift it out!

If you can, use both an XF factory manual and Gregorys manual together - makes life easier

Ummm, I think that's it


Best of luck!!!! (a job I never want to do again......)
XWish Ute is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-29-02, 05:27 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne's West
Age: 51
Posts: 407
Forgot to mention - should all just drop in OK - but make sure you get the complete Ghia loom - just in case!

Can anyone confirm whether all XFs were fitted with the same loom?

Cheers

XWish Ute
XWish Ute is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-29-02, 07:01 AM Thread Starter
Finnaly back
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: WA
Age: 15
Posts: 1,124
Thanx Buddy, I went a brought that book today, doesnt best describe things, but yeah Ill sus it out, yeah Ive got a Falcon and a fairmont so i have everything, the fairmont is rust packed so everythings going into the falcon



1 of 10 Fords
Chad_XF is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-02-02, 11:55 PM
100 SPEED LIMITED SILVAEA
 
gm dstroya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: gold coast and off playing with 32psi of boost pumping into 4.1lt of pure ohc feralness and developing a 350hp n/a kit for ea-au i6, also making 5.0lt gear soon enuf
Posts: 1,043
has any one put the auxillary gauges (fuel,oil,temp,volts) from the xf to an ea? i've just hooked up a digital speedo and tacho with 10 stage shift light (small led light evry 500 rpm) and want to convert the stock ea s pack auxillary gauges with the xf ones.

live in S.E. queensland? bit of a revhead? click here!!--> speedphreaks

1000hp is underway. rods,pistons here!! t88 on its way!!
gm dstroya is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-04-02, 07:42 AM Thread Starter
Finnaly back
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: WA
Age: 15
Posts: 1,124
dunno bout that....but I got the dash out the other day, piss! umm it wasnt heavy?



1 of 10 Fords
Chad_XF is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-05-02, 03:12 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne's West
Age: 51
Posts: 407
From memory, not real heavy but awkward - or maybe I'm unco! :-)

....probably should have taken the seats out too in retrospect....

Hope it goes in a heap easier than mine - the main hassle I had was lining up the top screws below the windscreen.
XWish Ute is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-06-02, 04:52 AM Thread Starter
Finnaly back
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: WA
Age: 15
Posts: 1,124
taken 2 out now, the one 4 the falcon, and the from the fairmont 2 put in the falcon, yeah It aint that hard, hope it isnt hard 2 put back in!! Iv almost stripped everything out of the falcon now, getting the engine out 2morrow, and then I he 2 get it painted, them put the fairmont engine in!



1 of 10 Fords
Chad_XF is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to build a v8 XF (the proper way in my opinion) Ford Grunt General Tech 98 09-11-04 08:15 PM
XF ghia dash speedo wont work in XF Falcon rodzxf Interior | Electrical | ECU 13 11-05-03 04:20 AM
Can an XF Ghia Digital Dash fit into a XF S Pak? Extreme_2020 Interior | Electrical | ECU 12 11-04-02 03:03 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome