help wanted with gt dash and hinges - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-03-2002, 03:09   #1 (permalink)
rice_eater
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
roll help wanted with gt dash and hinges

G'day guys,
have been having a bit of trouble in two areas in restoring an xb coupe.

First up, the drivers door was pretty saggy so i got a hinge repair kit from ford muscle parts. The problem is getting the original pins out of the hinges. I managed to get the top hinge pin out using lube, a heat gun and brute froce. Unforunately the other pins don't want to budge. Any other suggestions?

Second up, I had the original dash in and it worked fine. I got hold of a GT dash and I've been told that you dont need a new wiring loom to run the dash. I'm pretty buggered on where to start rewiring the new dash in. Do you need to seperate some of the wires from the old plug and route them to the new gauges? Will the tach need to be wired up individually to the coil (I replaced the original with an electronic piece so I'm guessing yes) and will the GT tach work with an electronic bosch number? Any help in rewiring the dash would be appreciated.

Cheers in advance,

Ian.
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-03-2002, 03:50   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: brisbane
Age: 48
Posts: 617
It's been a while but i'm pretty sure on XA+XB dashes you will need the harness to suit.That is only the dash harness.It will connect to your existing engine harness ..You will have to run the tacho wire in the engine harness,usually pink/blue trace,to the neg side of the coil.....
Just on the harness,the XC's and XD's use the same dash harness for stock + tacho dashes .
gregaust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2002, 04:51   #3 (permalink)
Veteran Ford Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: In a Dark Cave
Posts: 5,316
you will have to either get a new dash harness or get someone (yourself if you are handy with a soldering iron and a wirinn diagram) to splice the wires in. There is no easy way to do it ... being the slacker I am I would have found the easy way if there was one!!. My previous dash worked fine with the electronic coil/dizzy..except that with the engine turned off it sat on 1500 and redlined at 4000 indicated... new dash has a non working tacho but looks a lot better!!
As far as the hinge... get a bigger hammer.. or get rid of it and get another one in better condition an reco that instead..
xacoupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:31.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.