help on wiring and advice on my next buy - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-27-03, 08:21 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 14
help on wiring and advice on my next buy

i am thinking about my new upgrade, i want to have a 1000watt amp running 2 subbies and my existing 600watt amp running my 2 6x9s and 2 6inch 3way speakers and another amp running splits..

it is possible to have 3 amps all different brands in one car.. can someone give me a breif description on how to wire all this up.

here is what it will be again to help:

kenwood 1000watt amp------->>> 2 kenwood 800watt subs
kenwood 600watt amp------>>> 2 6x9s , 2 6inch 3way kenwoods
sony xplode 222watt amp----->>>> splits
kenwood h/u

would this work?
how would it be wired up?

thanks in advance
keysersozeEA is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-28-03, 03:11 AM
Posts: n/a

i have my subs (i ahve 2) wired in a series i think they call it so when the wires come outta the box they come out as if it was one sub (i was told this trys to imitate a dual voice coil) or sumtihn. so what io would do is run the two subs off the 222 wat sony amp, and then have the speakers running off the better more expensive amp, coz that where u really want the best sound coming out of all the subs do is bass and as long as its loud nice crisp bass thats alright and i think that 222 will handle that. id then probly run the splits and 6x9s off the 1000 watter coz im guessing thats a 4 channel and you could probanly drop one down to a 2 channel or sumthing.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-28-03, 03:42 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 14
thanks for the ideas :-)
but im looking for big bass... also i heard that the series wiring making it like one sub is less powerful.... the 1000watt is only 2 channels.. made for 2 subs.. i am actually looking for technical help... i want to know how i can have 3 amps in one car.. how do you wire it .. where does the + go and the - etc how do i power it up... i need wiring diagrams or exact directions on how to set it up..
keysersozeEA is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-28-03, 04:39 AM
ED Falcon Owner
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 88
u got 6x9's, 6 inch 3ways and splits? thats alot of speakers. I'd just put the splits in the doors, use the 6x9s up back.

Prviding ur 1000watt amp is 4 chan, which it sould. U could try run the subs in a series if the amp supports 2ohms. And run the 6x9s of the other two channels. and use ur other amp to power the splits.

Just use what ever amps gonna give u the most power bridged and ue it for ur subs. The 6x9s and splits wont require as near us much powers as the subs require.

I doubt u'd have to go to 3 amps unless ur running 4 or more subs.

P.S . im not an car audio professional. All statements above are just my opinion. although i've installed about 6-7 head units and done 3-4 amp+sub installs. ( soon as ppl know u know how to do it, they call u when they get their new h/u )

Edit : soz just read that ur 1000watt amp was 2 chan :(
Fallon is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-28-03, 04:40 AM
ST170ish's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Down South
Age: 43
Posts: 610
Buy yourself a DIY car audio book from and read it!

Takin it to 7 turnin it to 11
Originally Posted by some wise man
It may be your sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others.
ST170ish is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-01-03, 03:43 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 248
I'm assuming the amps are 4 channel, and your deck would only have 2 pre-out, get a hold of some audio cable spilters, like a double adaptor for sound. Should use a fuse for each one.
Falcon_Spac is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-02-03, 07:09 PM
Looking in YOUR bathroom.
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Adelaide
Age: 32
Posts: 3,287
fusing RCA's is totaly unessacary. They carry arround 4vrms max, and extremely low amperage.

Ive been described as a vault of usless random knowledge.

Ill take it as a complement i think.............
Walkinshaw is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-02-03, 07:18 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,386
you have 2 options when it comes to installing 3 amps. The first has already been mentioned where by you use rca splitters.

The other is some amps have a lineout(mostly 2 channels i think) which you can plug straight into another amp(this lineout is not amplified in anyway, so don't think you'll get 600+1000w!!!) Thereby making it a piece-o-piss to wire up 3 amps.

There is a 3rd, but your h/u has to support it, and thats 3 rca outs on the back oif the unit.

Hope this is of some help for ya.


EL driver...
Futura97 is offline  
Sponsored Links

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need advice with bbm conversion Low Na General Tech 10 09-23-03 04:57 PM
EB Stereo Wiring.. HELP! Big_Dan Audio And Security 3 05-24-03 03:23 AM
Sound System Buffs - Advice? Aussie Pete General Tech 35 03-30-02 03:09 AM
EB Fairmont wiring Falchoon Interior | Electrical | ECU 2 01-28-02 07:31 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome