How do i wire up an autometer tacho to el? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2003, 02:48   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
el_jonno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Shepparton
Posts: 18
How do i wire up an autometer tacho to el?

Just Bought a 5' tacho at autobahn, pretty sik moit.

if someone could help me on where the ignition/12 ignition switches go to.

Thanks.
__________________
1998 EL Falcon

17" Au II XR8 Wheels, Pedders Gas Suspension,
SS Inductions CAI/K&N Panel Filter, Extractors/2.5 System, JVC MP3 Head Unit, 12" MTX Sub, 7" x 10" Kenwood / 6" pioneer ways speakers, 2 X kenwood Amps.
And don't know whether to s/charge, turbo or N/a??
el_jonno is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-23-2003, 03:28   #2 (permalink)
Ambrose 2003 Champion!!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne Vic
Age: 28
Posts: 97
Re: How do i wire up an autometer tacho to el?

I dont know the answer, but was wondering if anyone could help me with a similar problem. How to mount and wire up an Autometer Monster Taco with shift light to an EB Falcon. I want to mount it on the A pillar, how is it done, and also the wiring. Thanks guys
__________________
EBII Falcon GLi - 5 speed manual, Cardinal Red, Pedders super-low springs, Koni reds all round, 18" AMG Quakes, tinted windows, extractors, 2.5 inch exhaust,Crow Cam, Pioneer 6X9s, Pioneer HU, XH Snorkle, K&N Filter, 5" Autometer Taco, Momo steering wheel, 2X10" Pioneer Subs, Clear Indicators

Marcos Ambrose & Ford - 2003 Champions!!
TURBO 6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 23:42   #3 (permalink)
Veteran Ford Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Lamb on Chapel, Chapel Street.
Age: 28
Posts: 2,893
Re: How do i wire up an autometer tacho to el?

Mounting it is pretty straight forward. Just remove the windscreen heater vent (an allen head screw on both sides) then carefully unclamp the A-pillar trim. Then follow the manufacturer's mounting instructions to mount it on to the plastic.

Is there any wiring info? I'm pretty sure all it would be is a park lamp signal, earth, acc +ve and a tacho signal wire.

Sundeep
Sundeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2003, 00:07   #4 (permalink)
Ambrose 2003 Champion!!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne Vic
Age: 28
Posts: 97
Re: How do i wire up an autometer tacho to el?

I bought the Tacho off a mate, so i had no wiring diagrams. Is it illegal to mount it on the A pillar, in the case of a crash, its something you can hit your head on. Thats just something ive heard. So if i have to peel away the trim, does that mean it has to be cut around where it is mounted?
__________________
EBII Falcon GLi - 5 speed manual, Cardinal Red, Pedders super-low springs, Koni reds all round, 18" AMG Quakes, tinted windows, extractors, 2.5 inch exhaust,Crow Cam, Pioneer 6X9s, Pioneer HU, XH Snorkle, K&N Filter, 5" Autometer Taco, Momo steering wheel, 2X10" Pioneer Subs, Clear Indicators

Marcos Ambrose & Ford - 2003 Champions!!
TURBO 6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2003, 08:28   #5 (permalink)
pR()rN_*
 
carazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adelaide,SA Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,966
Re: How do i wire up an autometer tacho to el?

um why have you got an auto meter techo when your car as standard has a techo.
Thats right it's next to the speed output thing.
Now take it back and go get a unifilter or something that will actully do something for your car.

Other wise.
There is a pink diagnostic plug that also doubles as an out put for a techo.
You should be able to simply run a positive and a negative from either the battery or an ignition on wire to the techo and then a wire from that pink plug (up near the brake booster)
__________________
Breathe! It's only the internet....
carazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2003, 16:34   #6 (permalink)
Ambrose 2003 Champion!!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne Vic
Age: 28
Posts: 97
Re: How do i wire up an autometer tacho to el?

Nah mate, my car doesnt come standered with a taco. My EB was a Automatic but was converted to a 5 speed, so therefore, its money well spent.
__________________
EBII Falcon GLi - 5 speed manual, Cardinal Red, Pedders super-low springs, Koni reds all round, 18" AMG Quakes, tinted windows, extractors, 2.5 inch exhaust,Crow Cam, Pioneer 6X9s, Pioneer HU, XH Snorkle, K&N Filter, 5" Autometer Taco, Momo steering wheel, 2X10" Pioneer Subs, Clear Indicators

Marcos Ambrose & Ford - 2003 Champions!!
TURBO 6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2003, 18:27   #7 (permalink)
Veteran Ford Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Lamb on Chapel, Chapel Street.
Age: 28
Posts: 2,893
Re: How do i wire up an autometer tacho to el?

I'd get a monster tacho for the sift light Carazy. It actually is quite useful to have a massive tacho I reckon.

Just my 2c.

Sundeep
Sundeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 06:09   #8 (permalink)
pR()rN_*
 
carazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adelaide,SA Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,966
Re: How do i wire up an autometer tacho to el?

bah, you can get a shift light by itself.
Big tachos suit old kick ass machines not modern cars.
That's obviously my opinion but I stick by it.
__________________
Breathe! It's only the internet....

Last edited by carazy; 07-28-2003 at 06:16.
carazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 18:11   #9 (permalink)
Veteran Ford Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Lamb on Chapel, Chapel Street.
Age: 28
Posts: 2,893
Re: How do i wire up an autometer tacho to el?

But monster tachos are cooler

Sundeep
Sundeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 03:06   #10 (permalink)
formerly sikEA
 
old_mate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sydney
Age: 30
Posts: 2,142
Re: How do i wire up an autometer tacho to el?

hehehe fooly sik

Da mohnsta tako adds at least 20rwkw to mah ride moit! :)

I bolted one onto the EA once, you'd be surprised how slow the EA one is to move compared to the autometer....am thinking about one for the EL, im getting too many old man jokes.
__________________
EL Fairmont
XY Fairmont


...mmm clevo...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sundeep
And Yagz, come back in six months faggot
old_mate is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BTR Electronic 4 speed Shift Kits 9psi EB Trans | Driveline 227 10-21-2004 03:34
EA-ED Paint / Trim Codes XplodEd EA Exterior | Body | Paint 23 06-23-2003 00:51
Tacho not working cogo_81 Interior | Electrical | ECU 3 04-07-2003 02:04
EF Manifold Conversion (again!) Martin General Tech 19 08-22-2002 03:29

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:20.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.