how to install driving lights??? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-25-03, 11:05 PM Thread Starter
XLS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Toowoomba
Age: 33
Posts: 46
how to install driving lights???

hi everyone, just went and bought some lights and i dont want to use the switch and all the wiring that they have given me. can i just splice into the wires just before the orignal lights and connect them there?????

graham


Ford AU S1 I6 XLS, 5 speed, pacemaker headers,
k and n filter, 2 1/2 straight through muffler dumped at diff, sony h/u focal 6x9s kicker amp.
XLS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-25-03, 11:18 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: brizvages
Age: 44
Posts: 140
Re: how to install driving lights???

not quite u can use where u were going to splice as a tiiger for a relay putting in a fuse for eace light is also a good idea
oze50 is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-26-03, 12:18 AM Thread Starter
XLS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Toowoomba
Age: 33
Posts: 46
Re: how to install driving lights???

makes sense now.......what do you need the relay for?

Ford AU S1 I6 XLS, 5 speed, pacemaker headers,
k and n filter, 2 1/2 straight through muffler dumped at diff, sony h/u focal 6x9s kicker amp.
XLS is offline  
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-26-03, 04:30 AM
No longer around
 
MADNC_8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Geelong
Age: 35
Posts: 4,882
Re: how to install driving lights???

for teh same reason all your other headlight globes have relays.

so oyur not running that much power through all the wires and switch etc.

what it does is take power directly from ya battery and pump it to the lights, in the shortest past possible. that way youre not running full power up to the switch then back to the lights

well, thats basically it
MADNC_8 is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-27-03, 04:55 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Bibra Lake Western Australia
Posts: 3,143
Re: how to install driving lights???

If you don't drive the lights directly from the battery using a relay triggered by the highbeam switch a) you will melt some wires and perhaps even start a fire in your car and b) perhaps have illegal lights (depending on what State you are in). See http://www.btinternet.com/~jhpart/spotfog.gif for circuit. See http://www.the12volt.com/index.asp to get an understanding of auto wiring and particularly here http://www.the12volt.com/relays/relays.asp to learn about relays.

Regards Blue
Aussiblue is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-27-03, 04:56 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Bibra Lake Western Australia
Posts: 3,143
Re: how to install driving lights???

PS use the wire that came with the lights as it should be the correct guage to handle the load.

Regards Blue
Aussiblue is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-29-03, 03:25 AM Thread Starter
XLS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Toowoomba
Age: 33
Posts: 46
Re: how to install driving lights???

dont want them now to much trouble.......anyone want to buy some driving lights?? hehe

Ford AU S1 I6 XLS, 5 speed, pacemaker headers,
k and n filter, 2 1/2 straight through muffler dumped at diff, sony h/u focal 6x9s kicker amp.
XLS is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-29-03, 03:47 AM
No longer around
 
MADNC_8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Geelong
Age: 35
Posts: 4,882
Re: how to install driving lights???

dude
rather than piss off ya lights
go to somewhere like autobarn, etc. and ask for a driving light wiring kit.

they have 2 types from memory - ive tried both.

the $18 one is useless coz for some reason just keeps blowing relays - dont ask me why, i even had it at a couple of auto elec's who were also stumped.

but teh one thats like 35 bucks is well worth the money. plenty of good wire, good quality (i think narva) relay and switch.
its piss simple to install. red wire to positive, black wire to vehicle body and then the other end to the globes, and the switch inside the car.

simple
MADNC_8 is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-29-03, 11:54 PM Thread Starter
XLS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Toowoomba
Age: 33
Posts: 46
Re: how to install driving lights???

already got rid of them.......going to wait till i get a xr front to put lights in...thanks for the help and to waste your time.

Ford AU S1 I6 XLS, 5 speed, pacemaker headers,
k and n filter, 2 1/2 straight through muffler dumped at diff, sony h/u focal 6x9s kicker amp.
XLS is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-02-04, 08:10 AM
Experienced Ford Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,129
Re: how to install driving lights???

Its not really that hard to do espcially if you have something to follow.

On that subject does anyone know if the EF fairmont ghia has plugs all set up for the turning lamps? as i just have them on the acc thu a realy then a switch
94EF_Ghia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XF driving lights new xf General Tech 3 11-12-03 02:24 AM
Driving lights no more flow_aus Australian Falcons 13 10-09-03 01:50 PM
Install driving lights cosmo Interior | Electrical | ECU 3 05-15-03 05:07 AM
SS/HSV driving lights Steve The Pub 56 01-22-03 07:06 PM
Turn your f**king driving lights off! Falchoon The Pub 49 08-11-02 04:22 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome