Ignition wiring - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2003, 18:28   #1 (permalink)
brenlam
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Ignition wiring

Just about to hook up an amp. Wheres the best place to get the power from? I want to hook it up to the ignition so its only got power when my ignition is on. On my old amp i wired it straight to the battery (not good leaving it on can drain a battery fairly quickly) so wiring it into the ignition would be much better. I dont really know how to do it, i could muck around and id get it eventually but if anyone can give some help it would save time.

Cheers
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-15-2003, 18:37   #2 (permalink)
E-Series Club Member
 
Jamie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 198
its usually done from the battery for a good connection (with a fuse right next to the battery) and the stock wiring probably wouldn't handle it. The wires arn't the thickest so..

I'd still wire it from the battery with 4ga. or something.

I didn't know the amp drained the battery when its not getting a signal or what not?

time to let the guru's step in
__________________
<b><font color="#000080"><font face="Arial" size="2">1992 EB Falcon GL [ </font></font><font face="Arial" size="1" color="#0000FF">Series 1</font><font color="#000080" face="Arial" size="2"> ]</font></b><br><font face="Arial" size="1"><a href="http://discussions.fordforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=37673">4 Speed Auto with Shift Mod</a><br>Interior Neons<br>MPFI Conversion [sn]</font>
Jamie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2003, 19:25   #3 (permalink)
brenlam
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
i dont know if they do drain the battery when the amp is connected to the battery but thats what i was told (unreliable source so it wouldnt surprise me if he was wrong). Anyway lets see what the others say
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2003, 03:07   #4 (permalink)
Look! A flying orangutan!
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: perth
Age: 31
Posts: 3,104
The amp often has an extra power wire connected to the back of the radio, this is the signal. If the radio is not on, the amp draws no power.
All the same, I tested mine when I installed it...
__________________
Proud TQE Operator and President of SEFAG - the Society for the Elimination of Ford Automatic Gearboxes

Pacemaker headers + 2.5" exhaust
EF Fairmont interior
MP3 player
Lowered King springs
5 speed manual
EF motor

Newest mod: EF Ghia wiring loom and dash
mongrelEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2003, 18:06   #5 (permalink)
Damien28
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
you usually connect a wire to the battery for constant power then another wire which is remote turn on which goes to the back of the head unit which makes it so the amp only turns on when the head unit turns on.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2003, 02:03   #6 (permalink)
formerly sikEA
 
old_mate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sydney
Age: 30
Posts: 2,142
You would be mad not to connect your amp to your battery. Make sure you have a fuse installed near the battery too.

Use proper power cable. Its the red stuff (my brain cant seem to recall the guage of it...someone will know) and make sure you run ALL power cables down one side of the car, and all speaker cable down the other.
__________________
EL Fairmont
XY Fairmont


...mmm clevo...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sundeep
And Yagz, come back in six months faggot
old_mate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2003, 13:50   #7 (permalink)
96 EF Futura
 
SiX_iN_a_RoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Now Residing in Brisbane
Age: 31
Posts: 2,494
yeah as the others have said
1. you need a good power supply for the AMP ( has to be nice thick wire fromt the battery )
2. there is a wire that hooks up to the head unit so that the amp turns on and off with the head unit
__________________
Lets go find that Hotdog tree I planted

Lowered EF Futura
Black Steelies ( too cheap to buy proper mags )
SiX_iN_a_RoW is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trailer Wiring Installation 2002 Windstar thermonuclear Ford Vans and Mini Vans | Ford Aerostar | Ford Freestar | Ford Galaxy | Ford Windstar 1 07-07-2003 17:17
jaycar ignition qwikcorty Cleveland Tech 3 04-26-2003 06:10
Stereo Wiring.. antigravity Audio And Security 7 08-14-2002 04:34
Direct Fire Ignition hyc GTS Ford Probe Forum | Mazda MX6 Forum 24 11-28-2001 09:22
Ignition Wiring Harness Help! glxstang Ford Mustang Forum 2 03-27-2001 17:09

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:08.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.