making EA fairmont dash brighter?! - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2004, 15:35   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Victoria
Posts: 271
making EA fairmont dash brighter?!

hi guys
i have changed my dash colour to red using those condom thingies but now i find the dash is too dull. mind you i always thought it was too dull! well how will i make it brighter? can i just put in some higher wattage globes? or do i put leds in? i dont know anything about leds though:( i want to keep my dash red tho
thanks
joelburden is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-11-2004, 16:34   #2 (permalink)
BA'o'Matic 100% working.
 
Dellboy999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Victoria
Age: 43
Posts: 3,838
Re: making EA fairmont dash brighter?!

Leds wont be brighter, well not without COST :0) , you need a fair few to get the bright display, do you have the brightness turned all the way up, it resets to LOW when the dash is removed, it is the lights switch, the little lever, just push it up and hold it before it switches the interioir lights on, should go brighter, in the GHIA you have do it with lights off, then again with lights on.

Jason
__________________
I did put something here, but it vanshied, I think

"So long and thanks for all the fish!"
Dellboy999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2004, 18:16   #3 (permalink)
NZ
feed me hey
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Age: 64
Posts: 4,692
Re: making EA fairmont dash brighter?!

The low series interior light only has high and low setting unlike the high series which is totally variable.
__________________
Dot Aye You
NZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 07:31   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Townsville, Nth Qld
Age: 35
Posts: 237
Re: making EA fairmont dash brighter?!

I have 5watt ones that i got from ford in mine and have had them for the last 5 weeks and it hasn't cursed any problems yet ( that i know of)
d_slayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 15:13   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Victoria
Posts: 271
Re: making EA fairmont dash brighter?!

5 watt is standard so if i went 6 or 7 watt would it heat up too much?
joelburden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 15:34   #6 (permalink)
BA'o'Matic 100% working.
 
Dellboy999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Victoria
Age: 43
Posts: 3,838
Re: making EA fairmont dash brighter?!

The globes do get fairly hot and give off heat (another advantage of LED's they are very cool), the heat might melt the condoms not sure though.

Jason
__________________
I did put something here, but it vanshied, I think

"So long and thanks for all the fish!"
Dellboy999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 22:32   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Townsville, Nth Qld
Age: 35
Posts: 237
Re: making EA fairmont dash brighter?!

I have an ea spak (mid range) dash in my car and i thought that the lights where 5 watt to but when i when to ford to get other ones i got el or au i cann't remember ones which where 5 watt and after looking at mine they were only 3 watt bulbs but the thick comdoms i have on mine haven't melted as yet but like i i have really thick ones about 2-3mm thick.. which i got from jaycar and with the normal setting on for the inside lighs the dash lights up the whole car.
d_slayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dash lights in EA Fairmont Ghia RossD Interior | Electrical | ECU 2 12-24-2003 10:14
EA Dash Swap d_slayer Interior | Electrical | ECU 17 11-18-2003 04:38
EA dash into EBII? jim5_0 Interior | Electrical | ECU 5 09-30-2003 02:18
BA Falcon Interior Reveal RPO83 Ford Worldwide News 5 09-16-2003 18:12
EA Fairmont Ghia to EB Fairmont Ghia Instruments... help XplodBoom General Tech 5 05-11-2003 01:31

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:17.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.