Monster tacho's - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2004, 05:20   #1 (permalink)
Ford Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: adelaide
Age: 38
Posts: 206
Monster tacho's

Autometer (or similar) 5" monster tacho's, anyone got one in their EA-ED?
if so, where did you fit it?
got any pics?
cheers
montyv8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-12-2004, 05:42   #2 (permalink)
THE VILLAGE LUNITIC
 
UNR8D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: cairns
Age: 29
Posts: 1,149
Re: Monster tacho's

eww y the hell would you want one of those?
__________________
INSURED BY THE MAFIA, U HIT US, WE HIT U!

White NL Fairlane Ghia, 'TQE', Superlows, Limo Tint, Pacemaker Tuned length comp spec extractors and lukey exhaust system with 5L cat, ported/polished head to flow 330hp, custom grind AU BILLET cam, chiptorque HP4 reprogramable chip, Alpine MP3/DVD/CD headunit, 550W alpine V series AMP, 12' Alpine Sub, 18" Advanti Chrome Alloys.

191.3RWHP 15.301@92MPH willowbank raceway. ghay 3.08 single spinner:(
UNR8D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2004, 05:42   #3 (permalink)
WHAT THE?
 
SPHELL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vicroads inspection bay
Age: 33
Posts: 925
Re: Monster tacho's

Yep! I got a 5" Sport Comp tach with shift lite. It's a bit mario styles but I reckon it looks cool. Personally, I never even look at the revs on the monster tach, I always look at the factory tacho, but the shift light is very handy when racing.
Here's a pic


There are also 3 other gauges mounted just infront of the gear stick. Oil pressure, water temp and air/fuel ratio. You can see in this pic


cheers
SPHELL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2004, 05:53   #4 (permalink)
Registered Snooser
 
dodgie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Brisbane
Age: 37
Posts: 579
Re: Monster tacho's

Quote:
Originally Posted by UNR8D
eww y the hell would you want one of those?
Ya gota get the ones that go to 11, they are a bit faster.
__________________
ED Fairmont Ghia 5.0L
dodgie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2004, 08:07   #5 (permalink)
R.I.P S/C EBII Fairmont
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Perth, WA
Age: 29
Posts: 305
Re: Monster tacho's

Here ya go dude.
http://www.fordgallery.com/showphoto...cat/500/page/1

I'm not sure of the size of mine, but I picked it up really cheap. I just had it mounted pretty dodgy (screwed into dash). The shift-light is in the tacho and is pretty small. I'm not a fan of the huge shift-lights on N/A cars, especially TQE's. :)
I found out the day after it was installed, that it had been mounted illegally as it's considered an obstruction of vision in WA. I've had it for about 14 months and *touch wood* had no problems with the cops, despite being pulled over several times for other things. I really should have had it professionally mounted to the A-pillar, but it didn't think of that then. Instead I cut thru' my dash mat. :)
It'll be great for drags when I get the manual and 3.89 mini-spool fitted. For now it is handy as it is more accurate than the tacho that's in my s-pac cluster.
j_biafra88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2004, 18:41   #6 (permalink)
YES its a 5 Speed!!
 
Supa R00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somewhere around here
Age: 27
Posts: 2,242
Re: Monster tacho's

sorry guys but i dnt see the point in having a huge tacho there if ones already on the dash! and one that goes to 10,000 rpm??? but your car dosnt even go past 6,000rpm ... and if u really need a shift light how about one of those small LED's that you can hook up??? sorry, aftermarket tacho's just arnt my thing... espicially if they r in a AUTO
__________________
1994 ED XR6
Tickford wings are for Tickford cars...
Proud TQE Operator

For Sale: 2001 Yamaha WR400F
PM me for info
Supa R00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2004, 01:58   #7 (permalink)
Ford Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: adelaide
Age: 38
Posts: 206
Re: Monster tacho's

each to their own... i dont have an s pac or fairmont dash in my eb. if i did i wouldn't bother.. and the tacho i have is an Autometer Pro-comp series, without the shift lite fitted.
have you never heard of manually shifting an automatic transmission?
i guess you just don't drive your car hard enough.....
or enter serious burnout comps......
thanks for the pics guys:)
montyv8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2004, 02:47   #8 (permalink)
still around... sometimes
 
oneredED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne
Age: 28
Posts: 498
Re: Monster tacho's

are there tacho's similar to the autometer ones that only go to say 6 grand and are physically smaller in size? I wanna update my cluster to an s-pac tacho one, but the one's i have seen seem to be slow. Eg. on drop back the tacho takes a bit to catch up to the motor. Is this common?

Cheers,
Jared
__________________
ED GLi-T

- T04b 1.15 A/R
- 3" zorst
- big cooler
- DBA slotted rotors
- 17x8 AJR Directors
- kings superlows
- megasquirt
- T5
- not quite finished...
oneredED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2004, 03:24   #9 (permalink)
Ford Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: adelaide
Age: 38
Posts: 206
Re: Monster tacho's

you can get 2 and a half and three inch tachos that go to 6 or 7 grand.
the factory one in your car will be 9 or 10 years old by now, they do play up after awhile. then again, i have seen ea ones working fine. there are places around that can fix them.
montyv8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2004, 08:33   #10 (permalink)
formerly sikEA
 
old_mate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sydney
Age: 29
Posts: 2,142
Re: Monster tacho's

Mohnsta Tahko's are fooly sik bro :)

I personally reckon they look cool but not in a auto (unless your running a big motor with a manualised tranny and watching revs is important)

Ford's electronic tacho's are crap. Most cars i have seen (including my EL) lag a decent aftermarket tacho by around 100-150rpm...i know its not much for a daily driver but...

we all wanna be full sik yea? :)
__________________
EL Fairmont
XY Fairmont


...mmm clevo...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sundeep
And Yagz, come back in six months faggot
old_mate is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do i get monster Torque? CK351 Cleveland Tech 24 07-12-2004 15:07
1000+ HP twin turbo monster Night_Lurker The Pub 13 07-05-2003 06:39
XR8 Monster Sited! EL-Phat The Pub 6 07-24-2001 08:46

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:35.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.