Smartlock retrofit into an EA - question? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-19-04, 02:29 AM Thread Starter
Vroom vroom
 
spope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Io
Age: 35
Posts: 233
Smartlock retrofit into an EA - question?

Hello all. I am giving serious consideration to buying a wrecked EBII or ED Fairmont, with the plan being to transplant the ENTIRE wiring loom into my car (EA Series II, GL) along with the dash, power windows, mirrors, etc...
My question is, given that in doing this I would be also replacing the ECU and installing a BEM, how hard would it be to get smartlock working? Damn near impossible? Or do-able?
Now, as I understand it, smartlock is pretty much a 6-point immobilisation system, and given that the interior would have to come out along with a lot of stuff in the engine bay, I can't see it would be too hard.
Any thoughts? Or is it a complete waste of time and I should just wait and buy an EBII Fairmont?


EA GL-Ghia pseudo operator
3.9 MPFI converted 4 speed
2.5 inch exhaust
NC Ghia interior (except rear trims)
Fairmont audio (with 4 speakers)
Cruise control
S-pac cluster with white dials
Trip computer and Fairmont interior lighting.
Half wired Ghia BCM.
spope is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-19-04, 03:48 AM
BA'o'Matic 100% working.
 
Dellboy999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Victoria
Age: 45
Posts: 3,838
Re: Smartlock retrofit into an EA - question?

If you transplat everything from one car to the next except the engine, then I cant see why not.

What are you planning to swap over and what are thinking you will not swap over ?

I did put something here, but it vanshied, I think

"So long and thanks for all the fish!"
Dellboy999 is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-19-04, 04:15 AM Thread Starter
Vroom vroom
 
spope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Io
Age: 35
Posts: 233
Re: Smartlock retrofit into an EA - question?

I kinda figured that... steering column surround would be replaced anyways to get the steering column light, so the antenna (assuming that's where it is) would go in anyway.
If I did buy a wreck, I'd probably transplant just about everything.
Dash, all electrics, obviously, drivetrain probably wouldn't be touched (better the devil you know)
The idea would be to wait and find one that has had a massive rear-end impact, or a fairly bad t-bone, preferably a statutory write-off. Cheaper to buy, and wouldn't have any impact on the electrics.
I don't really know what would be left over, but there'd be lots out of my existing car, but who really wants ea gl stuff?
It'd be a case of me taking time of work, stripping down the wreck to remove everything I want, then seeing whats left and ditching it.
But we're probably talking about 6 months down the track.

EA GL-Ghia pseudo operator
3.9 MPFI converted 4 speed
2.5 inch exhaust
NC Ghia interior (except rear trims)
Fairmont audio (with 4 speakers)
Cruise control
S-pac cluster with white dials
Trip computer and Fairmont interior lighting.
Half wired Ghia BCM.
spope is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-19-04, 10:31 AM
Look! A flying orangutan!
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: perth
Age: 33
Posts: 3,104
Re: Smartlock retrofit into an EA - question?

It'll work fine. Just make sure to swap ignition barrels or steering columns.

Alex

Proud TQE Operator and President of SEFAG - the Society for the Elimination of Ford Automatic Gearboxes

Pacemaker headers + 2.5" exhaust
EF Fairmont interior
MP3 player
Lowered King springs
5 speed manual
EF motor

Newest mod: EF Ghia wiring loom and dash
mongrelEB is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-20-04, 12:57 AM
BA XR6 Lightening Strike
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 50
Re: Smartlock retrofit into an EA - question?

"or a fairly bad t-bone" i would of thought that the electric windows would not work then
ba XR6 is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-20-04, 03:01 AM Thread Starter
Vroom vroom
 
spope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Io
Age: 35
Posts: 233
Re: Smartlock retrofit into an EA - question?

Yah, but the wiring would still be intact, which is really the point of the excercise. And I would probably put a new drivers regulator anyway, they aren't really that expensive.
Pretty much the only accident that would rule out the purchase would be a significant hit on the front right hand side, where the battery tray and assosciated fuse wiring is.
The only way to do it properly is to replace all the fuse boxes and relays in one hit.

MongrelEB: Cheers, I thought as much. Steering column surround would be replaced anyways, so no biggy.

EA GL-Ghia pseudo operator
3.9 MPFI converted 4 speed
2.5 inch exhaust
NC Ghia interior (except rear trims)
Fairmont audio (with 4 speakers)
Cruise control
S-pac cluster with white dials
Trip computer and Fairmont interior lighting.
Half wired Ghia BCM.
spope is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tinted Ea Headlights & Led question blinkAU Interior | Electrical | ECU 2 05-01-04 03:34 PM
Multipoint Conv Question About EA Head jdea139 Inline 6 Tech 8 04-02-04 08:02 AM
EA Spack, 3.9 question . . . Gruntly Inline 6 Tech 9 01-14-04 02:40 AM
A Question Brought Up by EA S - "The Wise Old Man" Aussie Pete The Pub 39 12-05-01 05:13 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome