Standard dash to s pak dash - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2004, 00:49   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Standard dash to s pak dash

Ive just install an s pak dash in my ea wagon cpi, but the tacho doesnt work and the oil pressure guage is flat out and the water light stays on, basically i just swapped the standard dash so i could have a tacho on my manual, the plug on the back is exactly the same, does anyone know what els i have to do to get the rest of the stuff to work, the speedo temperature, voltage and everything else seems to work fine.

Any help would be great thanks in advance.

My next project is going to be converting this from a six to a 383 stroker but this is a little while in the future as I am currently having the 351 converted bit by bit and I want to put fuel injected heads on it. :)
__________________
Its not a computer its a life management system!
Altec is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-07-2004, 19:37   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 176
Re: Standard dash to s pak dash

Quote:
Originally Posted by Altec
Ive just install an s pak dash in my ea wagon cpi, but the tacho doesnt work and the oil pressure guage is flat out and the water light stays on, basically i just swapped the standard dash so i could have a tacho on my manual, the plug on the back is exactly the same, does anyone know what els i have to do to get the rest of the stuff to work, the speedo temperature, voltage and everything else seems to work fine.

Any help would be great thanks in advance.

My next project is going to be converting this from a six to a 383 stroker but this is a little while in the future as I am currently having the 351 converted bit by bit and I want to put fuel injected heads on it. :)
Oil Pressure Gauge..
You need to change the oil pressure light switch to a gauge reading assembly. You'll find the switch under the inlet manifold near the distributor. Just swap them over and reconnect the wire.

Tacho and water light..
Two wires need to be added to the blank terminals at the bottom of the large cluster connector (These are pins 8 and 9)

The tacho needs an impulse wire added to pin 8 on the large connector at the rear of the cluster (pin 8 is the outer lower connection)
The easiest tacho pick up point is the pink tacho test wire near the brake booster (It has a bullet connector on it)

The water light..
It's the low level warning light that's staying on. you probably don't have a low level sensor on the fill bottle..
Two options..
1.. Add a low level sensor to the coolant fill bottle. Wire one side of the sensor to Pin 9 on the large cluster connection (bottom inside pin). Wire the other side of the low level switch to battery earth.
2.. Take the globe out of the cluster.
Option 1 is best as you'll have added a low level coolant warning system.

The wiring pins to fit in the loom connector on the back of the cluster are part number AMP170291
If you have a 4 speed auto trans, check that you still have the power light indicator as one of the indicator lights.
__________________
---------------------------------
...Prove the fault first .. Guess later ...
...Member of the ATPS and the NFFS...
---------------------------------
rawlinna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2004, 20:49   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Re: Standard dash to s pak dash

Thanks heaps for that info, its is really informative and easy to follow. Damn motor just snapped both engine mounts last night hehehe, have to fix that now.

Thanks again
__________________
Its not a computer its a life management system!
Altec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2004, 20:50   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Re: Standard dash to s pak dash

Oh yeah its a 5 speed manual too
__________________
Its not a computer its a life management system!
Altec is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Territory Launch (Comprehensive) RPO83 Territory 25 05-03-2004 04:56
U.S.A.: Ford vehicles at the New York Auto Show Stacy94PGT Ford Worldwide News 5 04-08-2004 10:11
ef-el dash into an xa sedan????? danxagt Interior | Electrical | ECU 1 12-12-2003 00:04
EB Smartlock instrument dash Replacment with EA Spack AU1SIXA Interior | Electrical | ECU 2 11-15-2003 22:42
My Au XR8 XLR8 The Showroom 81 09-26-2001 14:38

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:38.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.