Tacho voltage ??? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-16-04, 06:49 PM Thread Starter
Two SC 61's = trouble
 
ebxr8240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Penrith,nswAus/Morrinville.NZ
Age: 62
Posts: 6,360
Tacho voltage ???

I have fitted MSD ignition and the tacho doesn't work...
What I want to know is what voltage the tacho reads from??
Like .0 to 5v or up to 12 V


Don't be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic!
.
Tuned & maintained by "Peppertree Perfmormance". Dart block, Scat 4340 steel crank, Custom C.P pistons.Oliver rods.. Mal Wood twin plate clutch.. Twin SC61/2's,482 rwkw/ 645 rwhp..
Passengers, myocardial infarction material..
R.I.P Possum...
ebxr8240 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-17-04, 03:25 AM
NZ
feed me hey
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Age: 66
Posts: 4,692
Re: Tacho voltage ???

Theres nothing in the workshop manual about voltage but for the V8 1000rpm = 66.67hz, 3000rpm = 200hz, 5000rpm = 333.33hz

Dot Aye You
NZ is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-17-04, 08:19 AM
Registered User
 
TruBlu351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 2,398
Re: Tacho voltage ???

How have you wired it up? directly from the MSD box to the tacho?

XE Falcon
393 Tremec TKO 9"
TruBlu351 is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-17-04, 11:37 PM Thread Starter
Two SC 61's = trouble
 
ebxr8240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Penrith,nswAus/Morrinville.NZ
Age: 62
Posts: 6,360
Re: Tacho voltage ???

No to original wire..The tfi is removed and Haltech is doing the switching..
Yes I'll do that...Maybe burnt out tacho ???? Hmmm Experts ????

Don't be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic!
.
Tuned & maintained by "Peppertree Perfmormance". Dart block, Scat 4340 steel crank, Custom C.P pistons.Oliver rods.. Mal Wood twin plate clutch.. Twin SC61/2's,482 rwkw/ 645 rwhp..
Passengers, myocardial infarction material..
R.I.P Possum...
ebxr8240 is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-27-04, 04:16 AM
Registered User
 
4vxc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 397
Re: Tacho voltage ???

you need an MSD tach adaptor as the standard tacho cant read the multiple sparks from the MSD
4vxc is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-27-04, 05:25 AM
Registered User
 
roofi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 104
Re: Tacho voltage ???

If the Haltech is providing "spark now" signals to the MSD, that is equivalent to the SPOUT on the TFI. IMO this is where you should pick up the tach signal. SPOUT voltage will be under 12VDC and square wave relative to engine speed (similar to tach).

XF PV EEC-IV
Subaru RX Turbo
Van Diemen RF86
Softride Powerwing
roofi is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-29-04, 09:04 PM
4.1 XFLOW EFi Turbo
 
xf6250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: South East Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 1,087
Re: Tacho voltage ???

doesnt the MSD run a magneto setup to drive the tacho?

Same car............new lease on life
500+HP of 250 EFI Turbo............Coming Soon
xf6250 is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-30-04, 01:29 AM
what u lookin at
 
needturbo6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: WA
Age: 32
Posts: 777
Re: Tacho voltage ???

its says on the autometer website that
"warranty will be void if connected to coil on MSD ignitions. Attach only to tach terminal"

wouldnt the haltech have a tacho output

i just noticed its an old thread. did u find the problem?
needturbo6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DTC Codes fordel Ford Focus Forum 8 02-21-09 11:22 PM
tacho xa gt dash benXaGt Classic Falcons 5 09-15-04 04:04 AM
P*ss Poor performance on hot days!!! the_scotsman General Tech 9 12-18-03 07:35 PM
Removing Code 67 chrispy General Tech 5 11-23-03 09:06 AM
EEC IV Diagnostic Codes for 89 - 97 Thunderbird/Cougar LunaticSVT Mercury Cougar Forum 0 07-15-03 10:45 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome