True Tacho Wiring - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 46 (permalink) Old 12-02-02, 04:23 PM Thread Starter
96 EF Futura
 
SiX_iN_a_RoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Now Residing in Brisbane
Age: 32
Posts: 2,494
True Tacho Wiring

I have just bought an S-Pac cluster and I am pretty sure I know how to hook it up but just wanted to double check as I have read through some posts on here and a few say different thing.
From what I understand I have to solder a wire to the second plug, 8th pin top row, run a wire through the firwall and plug it into the pink wire near the master cylinder which has a round cylinder female terminal.....is this correct?

Then I may have to remove the low coolant bulb ( or install a sensor ) and change the oil switch to the gauge type

I take it the temp senders are the same etc

Lets go find that Hotdog tree I planted

Lowered EF Futura
Black Steelies ( too cheap to buy proper mags )
SiX_iN_a_RoW is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 46 (permalink) Old 12-02-02, 06:29 PM
EB wagon
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 8 Mile Plains, Brisbane
Posts: 932
Yep, u got it spot on the money buddy..

Brent

EB1 3.9L MPI Falcon Wagon with converted T5 / Pacemaker & 2.5" Redback sports exhaust / 2" lowered blocks at the rear, Kings lows up front / ED Tickford Head and Cam / K&N panel filter with XH intake Snorkel / Full EL Fairmont interior with woodgrain

89 EA1 3.9L TBI Falcon Sedan with 3 speed auto / currently being upgraded...
Brent79 is offline  
post #3 of 46 (permalink) Old 12-02-02, 07:07 PM
FORD its a way of Life
 
StarkEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Shepparton
Posts: 206
Hi Im doing the same as u six-in-a-row, apart from I have know idea where to start.

So could u or n e 1 else tell me exactly how to do this conversion??

1998 EL Fairmont Ghia in Burgundy, Tickford enchenced, Leather Int, Lowered with White Line Works Kit, 17" ROH hi polished rims. AU XR snorkel.
StarkEA is offline  
post #4 of 46 (permalink) Old 12-02-02, 07:29 PM
Registered User
 
Kenaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melbourne
Age: 33
Posts: 2,061
Quote:
Originally posted by StarkEA
Hi Im doing the same as u six-in-a-row, apart from I have know idea where to start.

So could u or n e 1 else tell me exactly how to do this conversion??
First of all, do you know how to remove the instrument cluster? If so, then all you need to do is what SiX_iN_a_RoW said.

If not, then;

1. you need to unscrew the two little panels each side of the steering column which have things like boot release and fuel flap release etc. Take these off.

2. With those removed, look inside and just above to see another screw on each side. Remove these screws.

3. Above the dials and gauges in the cluster you will see 3 screws holding the black cluster surround in place. Remove all 3 screws and the surround should just come out, provided that you followed step 2.

4. Now you will see 4 screws holding the cluster in place, 2 on the top and 2 at the bottom, remove all of these and the cluster will become loose.

5. Unplug the loom from the back and the cluster will just pull out. Once the cluster is out, just wire up the tacho (see the first post by SiX_iN_a_RoW), replace the oil pressure sender and if you can be bothered wire up the coolant sensor (I haven't done this yet so I can't give specific details).

Installation is a reversal of this procedure.

Ash
Kenaz is offline  
post #5 of 46 (permalink) Old 12-02-02, 07:34 PM
AUII S
 
vbman187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mornington Peninsula, Victoria
Age: 33
Posts: 144
How much did your Spac cluster cost (from the wreckers)?

Well u be taking pics...im keen to do this mod? but not sure about where to start whats screws to pull etc.

AUII Falcon
Sedan S-Pack
HeadUnit - Alpine CDA-9815
Amp - Eclipse PA5422
Fronts - Alpine SPS-571A
Rears - RockFord Fosgate T1572C
JMM Mods Some Day


vbman187 is offline  
post #6 of 46 (permalink) Old 12-02-02, 07:38 PM
Registered User
 
Kenaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melbourne
Age: 33
Posts: 2,061
My cluster was $120 including oil pressure sender. Probably not the best price in town, but not too bad all the same...
Kenaz is offline  
post #7 of 46 (permalink) Old 12-02-02, 07:44 PM
FORD its a way of Life
 
StarkEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Shepparton
Posts: 206
Thanks Kenaz, yeah I know how to pull it all out I just have know idea where the techo wire and the oil pressure sender.

I got my Spac cluster 4 $50 at a small wrecker in Shepparton.. As for taking pic not sure yet, if I do I'll have post a thread..


oh yeah can n e 1 tell if its possible to change the amount of K's on the Odomeder, coz my car has only done 193 000 K's and the Spac cluster have 367 000 K's, so I would like to have more of true reading on it...

1998 EL Fairmont Ghia in Burgundy, Tickford enchenced, Leather Int, Lowered with White Line Works Kit, 17" ROH hi polished rims. AU XR snorkel.
StarkEA is offline  
post #8 of 46 (permalink) Old 12-02-02, 07:45 PM Thread Starter
96 EF Futura
 
SiX_iN_a_RoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Now Residing in Brisbane
Age: 32
Posts: 2,494
Got my cluster for $30 ( dads wreckers ) didnt have time to grab an oil switch but I will get one soon.....I dont have a digital camera as yet so I cant take any photos :(
but can assist you if you need it...

Lets go find that Hotdog tree I planted

Lowered EF Futura
Black Steelies ( too cheap to buy proper mags )
SiX_iN_a_RoW is offline  
post #9 of 46 (permalink) Old 12-02-02, 08:35 PM
Registered User
 
Kenaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melbourne
Age: 33
Posts: 2,061
Quote:
Originally posted by StarkEA
Thanks Kenaz, yeah I know how to pull it all out I just have know idea where the techo wire and the oil pressure sender.
Looking at the engine bay from the front of the vehicle you will see the tacho wire hanging loose in the top left hand side near the brake fluid reservoir. A pink wire with blue stripes and a plastic protector on the end.

Still looking at the engine bay from here you will find the oil pressure sender is located just under the inlet manifold.

Ash
Kenaz is offline  
post #10 of 46 (permalink) Old 12-02-02, 09:15 PM
FORD its a way of Life
 
StarkEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Shepparton
Posts: 206
thanx 4 that kenaz, I've found the tacho wire n wired it up...

now once I've located the oil pressure sender, do I need to replace n e thing or can I just wire it up?? and where do I wire it up??

don't worry about the my pervious question about the Odomeder, coz I just put the orgianl 1 in the S-Pac cluster...

1998 EL Fairmont Ghia in Burgundy, Tickford enchenced, Leather Int, Lowered with White Line Works Kit, 17" ROH hi polished rims. AU XR snorkel.
StarkEA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trailer Wiring Installation 2002 Windstar thermonuclear Ford Vans and Mini Vans | Ford Aerostar | Ford Freestar | Ford Galaxy | Ford Windstar 1 07-07-03 06:17 PM
Help Installing Tacho LoverBoy Interior | Electrical | ECU 5 04-13-03 01:04 AM
Tacho not working cogo_81 Interior | Electrical | ECU 3 04-07-03 03:04 AM
Stereo Wiring.. antigravity Audio And Security 7 08-14-02 05:34 AM
Tacho Wiring?.! nickmycar Interior | Electrical | ECU 16 04-17-02 11:49 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome