XD V8 TACHO, help - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-08-05, 08:19 AM Thread Starter
1XD 351
 
Lee81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: perth W.A.
Age: 35
Posts: 20
XD V8 TACHO, help

hi all

I have a XD V8 , with a 6cyl tacho in ,it i've been told u can change the tacho to suit the v8 by changine a resistor ?
does anyone no if this is true ?
and what resistor do i change or fit to do this ?
any imput would be helpfull thanksl.


I just wanna go fast with V8 GRUNT!
XD 351 ,toploader 9" lsd 300rwhp
motorvation top10 , AME top 10 + top engine bay + top interior + top sedan +top street machine ,
all ford day top 10 . 2005 was a good year for the old girl
Lee81 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-09-05, 03:26 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Perth
Posts: 184
Re: XD V8 TACHO, help

I would also be like to know the answer to that. I have opened it up, no clues. Maybe VDO can help. I will chase it up tomorrow.

AUIII XR6 Ute
66 Mustang convertible
AUIII XR8 Sedan
nassi is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-09-05, 07:14 AM Thread Starter
1XD 351
 
Lee81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: perth W.A.
Age: 35
Posts: 20
Re: XD V8 TACHO, help

i rang a auto elecrician and he quoted me $50 so i no it can be done.
but cheaper if i can do it myself ,

I just wanna go fast with V8 GRUNT!
XD 351 ,toploader 9" lsd 300rwhp
motorvation top10 , AME top 10 + top engine bay + top interior + top sedan +top street machine ,
all ford day top 10 . 2005 was a good year for the old girl
Lee81 is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-09-05, 09:11 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Country NSW
Posts: 268
Re: XD V8 TACHO, help

Speedo is offfff

post 19 shows the trimpot you are looking for....
silicon is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-12-05, 04:19 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Perth
Posts: 184
Re: XD V8 TACHO, help

Thanks Silicon, i would have thought the trim pot would simply fine tune the circuit after the correct value components were fitted.? Anyway I have emailed VDO to ask for info but as yet you are the only useful reply I have recieved.
thanks

AUIII XR6 Ute
66 Mustang convertible
AUIII XR8 Sedan
nassi is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-12-05, 04:14 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Country NSW
Posts: 268
Re: XD V8 TACHO, help

Quote:
Originally Posted by nassi
Thanks Silicon, i would have thought the trim pot would simply fine tune the circuit after the correct value components were fitted.? Anyway I have emailed VDO to ask for info but as yet you are the only useful reply I have recieved.
thanks
I can assure you the trimpot has enough range to tune the 6cyl unit to read correctly as a V8. Using another external tacho is the trick to fine tune it.
silicon is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-13-05, 04:01 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Perth
Posts: 184
Re: XD V8 TACHO, help

Thanks mate I'll give it a go.

AUIII XR6 Ute
66 Mustang convertible
AUIII XR8 Sedan
nassi is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-28-05, 07:21 PM Thread Starter
1XD 351
 
Lee81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: perth W.A.
Age: 35
Posts: 20
Re: XD V8 TACHO, help

hey guy's
Know its been a while but finally tuned in the tacho , got a aftermarket universal tacho i found in the shed set that up and held it a 3000rpm as i tuned in the orignal tacho and it works fine .

so there you go thanks alot for you're help

I just wanna go fast with V8 GRUNT!
XD 351 ,toploader 9" lsd 300rwhp
motorvation top10 , AME top 10 + top engine bay + top interior + top sedan +top street machine ,
all ford day top 10 . 2005 was a good year for the old girl
Lee81 is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-30-05, 04:49 AM
Registered User
 
TruBlu351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 2,398
Re: XD V8 TACHO, help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee81
hey guy's
Know its been a while but finally tuned in the tacho , got a aftermarket universal tacho i found in the shed set that up and held it a 3000rpm as i tuned in the orignal tacho and it works fine .

so there you go thanks alot for you're help
Good one!

We got another satisfied guy last week using the tacho side trim pot trick too!

Don't forget the speedo has a trim pot too for those tyre/diff gear changes.

XE Falcon
393 Tremec TKO 9"
TruBlu351 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome