XF vs EA Tachos - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2002, 08:33   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Blackburn North
Age: 34
Posts: 30
XF vs EA Tachos

Does anyone know if the tachos from XF clusters are the same spec as EA? I picked one up from the wreckers yesterday, as it was lying on a back seat by itself and got it for $13, but when i try and run it in my EA 3.9CFI as a top-of-dash mounted tacho, it reads about 400rpm or so higher upright (normal position) than when flat. The flat reading seems more correct too (dad's tacho is dead, so i can't check it).

i'm wondering if the tacho is different or if the coil is putting out a different voltage or something. Also, I've read here that redline is about 5500 rpm, but I ran the tach today on Maroondah hwy and I backed off the throttle at a reading of about 3800 rpm as it sounded a bit scary... i'm thinking it was closer to 5 than 4...

Are the ECUs the same between XF efi and EA efi?

thanks for any help guys

Simon
sgreatwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-26-2002, 20:17   #2 (permalink)
pR()rN_*
 
carazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adelaide,SA Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,966
the techo works on the pulse of electricty not the amount of voltage so I can't see how it would be differant
Oh and the ECU's are very different.
__________________
Breathe! It's only the internet....
carazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2002, 23:06   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Blackburn North
Age: 34
Posts: 30
OK, thanks. aren't the CFI EA & XF both EEC-IV? I just did a search of the board.
sgreatwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2002, 00:44   #4 (permalink)
400 kg ego
 
Troutman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,188
Quote:
Originally posted by sgreatwood
OK, thanks. aren't the CFI EA & XF both EEC-IV? I just did a search of the board.
I understand they are. However, EA and EB II are also EEC-IV, and they are by no means the same. The programming and features would presumably differ slightly.
__________________
Jack Travis, E-Series Acting President

1989 Ford Fairmont Ghia turbo/GL replica (underway)
1994 Eunos 800M
1990 Ford Laser S
Troutman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2002, 07:59   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Blackburn North
Age: 34
Posts: 30
Ah, thanks Jack. sorry for the wrong forum - wasn't sure just where to put it. btw, nice wheels :) I think I like the turbos better, but they look pretty schmick now :)

Simon
sgreatwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2002, 01:55   #6 (permalink)
TOC TAS Secretary
 
EDXR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tas
Age: 36
Posts: 233
if it is an aftermarket tacho, ie not a ford factory one then it should just work. all u need is ground +12 and a tacho signal. also check to see if it has a switch on the back of it to select if it is a 4 - 6 or 8 cylinder car
__________________
Ford Performance Vehicles Club of Tasmania

"Pressing your F1 key will not put you on the RACE TRACK"
EDXR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2002, 07:36   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Blackburn North
Age: 34
Posts: 30
EDXR6, thanks for the tip, but it's an XF electronic tacho, from an XF dash. (just the dial and back stuff, not the cluster).

I've pulled it out, but did the XF have a V8? could that be the problem? maybe the needle just got bent... must have been a lot though and doesn't look it...

ta
sgreatwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2002, 02:26   #8 (permalink)
400 kg ego
 
Troutman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,188
Quote:
Originally posted by sgreatwood
EDXR6, thanks for the tip, but it's an XF electronic tacho, from an XF dash. (just the dial and back stuff, not the cluster).

I've pulled it out, but did the XF have a V8? could that be the problem? maybe the needle just got bent... must have been a lot though and doesn't look it...

ta
The only V8 XFs are those that have been converted aftermarket. With this kind of query, the best way to find out if it works is having a go at hooking it up. :)

If it's no good, and you still want a digital dash, I'd try selling the XF dials and buying EA ones.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Jack Travis, E-Series Acting President

1989 Ford Fairmont Ghia turbo/GL replica (underway)
1994 Eunos 800M
1990 Ford Laser S
Troutman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 09:00   #9 (permalink)
4WD Jockey
 
LoverBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Katanning, WA.
Age: 28
Posts: 1,391
Quote:
Originally posted by EDXR6
if it is an aftermarket tacho, ie not a ford factory one then it should just work. all u need is ground +12 and a tacho signal. also check to see if it has a switch on the back of it to select if it is a 4 - 6 or 8 cylinder car
hey EDXR6 you seem to know your stuff.
Was wondering if you could help me here (or anybody in the know)
I just brought an after market tacho (3 3/4", before you call me a "RiceBoy" the bloke at my wreckers quoted me $140 for an ea s pak cluster, and the tacho was only $98) and it has four wires:
but there's 2 I'm unsure of, one of them being the tacho lighting and the other being tacho signal, from my understanding it's a pink wire, you have an ED so I thought i'd ask you where it is.
Help would be GREATLY appreciated.
Cheers
Mason.
LoverBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 18:35   #10 (permalink)
4WD Jockey
 
LoverBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Katanning, WA.
Age: 28
Posts: 1,391
Please, anyone who knows how to hhelp me with an ED?!
LoverBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xf gauges in to an ea gm dstroya General Tech 13 01-08-2003 20:06
XF trans into EA?? Chad_XF Trans | Driveline 9 01-04-2003 22:31
XF Brakes from EA MSR 17 Suspension | Wheels&Tires | Brakes 1 01-08-2002 03:49

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:07.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.