XR Instrument Cluster in Forte - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2004, 15:00   #1 (permalink)
AU3 BT1
 
scruba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Brisbane
Age: 39
Posts: 199
XR Instrument Cluster in Forte

Is this an easy mod?
Are the wiring connectors the same?
Does the BEM need to be upgraded?
__________________
Our new ride - Narooma Blue Forte BT1 06/2002 AU3
My Falcon is here
AU1 Fairmont Galaxy Blue (Company Car)
Brisbane Car Detailers We share your passion for cars
scruba is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-08-2004, 19:12   #2 (permalink)
Loco
 
Bangers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brisbane\Australia
Age: 30
Posts: 211
Re: XR Instrument Cluster in Forte

I'm doing the same thing for my AU2.

The following docs will give you all the information you need.

http://members.iinet.net.au/~bangers/pins%20for%20au.doc
http://members.iinet.net.au/~bangers/au.doc
http://members.iinet.net.au/~bangers/wiring%20information%20for%20the%20au%20series%20ii.doc

au, is for series 1.
pins for AU, is simple version. (but unsure for which version of AU)
wiring information has everything you need (probably the only one you need to read). At first it sounds complex, but really all you gotta do is swap over a few pins, and change the oil sensor on the engine (like $5, 2 wires..) and she'd be good to go.

Hardest and most dangerous part is changing the ROM change over, which has the KM's on it...(which you must do or face like a $10k for rolling back the clock..)

My plan (after I buy the next one which pops up on ebay) is to just make a little adapter, so when it comes time to actually ripping out the dash and plugging her back in, no wires need to be soldered. Just put the adapter on her and she'd be good to go. Although, saying this, I've never seen the back fo the dash, so I'm not sure if it's a socket type plug, or if all the wires are just loose...
Bangers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2004, 16:35   #3 (permalink)
AU3 BT1
 
scruba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Brisbane
Age: 39
Posts: 199
Re: XR Instrument Cluster in Forte

Cheers,
__________________
Our new ride - Narooma Blue Forte BT1 06/2002 AU3
My Falcon is here
AU1 Fairmont Galaxy Blue (Company Car)
Brisbane Car Detailers We share your passion for cars
scruba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2004, 18:26   #4 (permalink)
Loco
 
Bangers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brisbane\Australia
Age: 30
Posts: 211
Re: XR Instrument Cluster in Forte

Let me know how you go doing it, I plan on doing it soon (upcoming months) - wayy too busy at the moment.

Love it if you could take howto pics :)
Bangers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2004, 22:38   #5 (permalink)
AU3 BT1
 
scruba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Brisbane
Age: 39
Posts: 199
Re: XR Instrument Cluster in Forte

I was going to get a workshop to fit it and the senders etc. as being a rep I don't get a lot of time to fiddle anymore.

Price shocked me for a new unit from Ford so i'll keep an eye out at the wreckers and e-bay.

Keep you posted.
__________________
Our new ride - Narooma Blue Forte BT1 06/2002 AU3
My Falcon is here
AU1 Fairmont Galaxy Blue (Company Car)
Brisbane Car Detailers We share your passion for cars
scruba is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AU111 Forte Instrument Cluster Into AU1 Forte Kirky Interior | Electrical | ECU 2 11-27-2004 15:37
Cheap instrument cluster mod wombatef General Tech 29 06-03-2003 21:52
EF instrument cluster into XF ute Pete General Tech 14 05-09-2003 13:38
Barra forte to be quicker than AU XR??? tickford2001 The Pub 9 04-22-2002 08:28

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:50.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.