yet another trip computer question!!! - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-11-02, 05:08 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,386
yet another trip computer question!!!

Im about to buy a trip computer for my EL. Im paying $88 for it. Does this sound fair? I had a look at it and it looks brand spanking new....

Ive looked at matti's website and it seems that its pretty easy to install. Has anybody installed it and had any dramas? Can anyone give me some tips??

Cheers
Matt


EL driver...
Futura97 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-11-02, 08:02 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 698
Yeah, $88 for a new one sounds sweeet !

The only thing I can suggest is to keep playing around with adding the Data Line, as most people have problems with it !

Basically, if you plug the trippy in, and it only lights up when you press a button, then that data line is a fault.

Its quite common, and can take some people a bit of time before they add the data line, so as it is 100% faultless.
(Because it is carrying data, the electrical connection needs to be 100%)

Apart from that, it should be very easy !

Cheers
Matti
Xyphoid is offline  
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-11-02, 08:04 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,386
Thanks for that matti...

I just bought it and I am tackling the task right now. Whats the best way to tap into the data line?? Can I just remove some of the insulation, and solder the new wire onto it and then carry it to the trip computer? Is it best to get it straight from the BEM??

Cheers
Matt

EL driver...
Futura97 is offline  
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-11-02, 08:13 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Canberra, ACT, Australia
Posts: 105
I have added one, biggest problem I had was getting the connectors to plug into the speedo connector loom. Had to go to a VDO repair and convence them to sell me a couple of connectors. Other than that no problems. I paid $100 for my trip computer from memory. Had no problems with data lines dropping out.

Matti, I would be interested to kown with all the mods you have done, where do you buy the correct connectors from as that is the hardest part i always find in doing any mods to wiring.

cheers

Craig
smith is offline  
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-11-02, 08:28 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 698
Hehehehe.....
Im very bodgy when it comes to electrical connectors.

I have found one method, which works, but is not very elegant.

Basically strip off around 3cm from the end of a wire.
Twist it, and double it over, so as the copper area is very chunky.
Shove the wire into the bare connector hole.
Then use some gum type glue (Tarzan grip works for me !), to hold it in place.

Again, not very elegant, but it works.
Also, the gum based glue means that you can pull the wire out if there are any problems (I used to use superglue, not recommended any more Hehehehe)..

Cheers
Matti
Xyphoid is offline  
post #6 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-11-02, 08:32 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 698
Quote:
Originally posted by Futura97
Can I just remove some of the insulation, and solder the new wire onto it and then carry it to the trip computer? Is it best to get it straight from the BEM??
Nah, unfortunately you will find that the wire isnt there, and will need to be physically added.

The same will go for the Instrument Cluster Data Connection.

Its a pain in the butt, and I dont really understand why Ford didnt just add that wire in for all models, as it would have made things much easier when upgrading in the future.....

Cheers
Matti
Xyphoid is offline  
post #7 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-11-02, 08:43 PM
Registered User
 
61sg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: WA
Age: 36
Posts: 701
do EL XRs have the plug for the trip computer or do you have to wire them up to
61sg is offline  
post #8 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-11-02, 09:04 PM
Australian BA XR6 Falcon
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Perth WA
Posts: 1,249
Re: yet another trip computer question!!!

Quote:
Originally posted by Futura97
Im about to buy a trip computer for my EL. Im paying $88 for it. Does this sound fair? I had a look at it and it looks brand spanking new....

Ive looked at matti's website and it seems that its pretty easy to install. Has anybody installed it and had any dramas? Can anyone give me some tips??

Cheers
Matt
Where did you score it from Matt?, havn't looked in the last few months but wreckers in Perth wanted $150+ earlier this year. I wouldn't mind getting one at that price myself.

Kieron
Kieron is offline  
post #9 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-11-02, 09:21 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,386
Tony auto wreckers out midland way.

I think they still have a few left, so be quick!!

EL driver...
Futura97 is offline  
post #10 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-11-02, 09:29 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,386
Quote:
Originally posted by Xyphoid
Nah, unfortunately you will find that the wire isnt there, and will need to be physically added.

The same will go for the Instrument Cluster Data Connection.

Its a pain in the butt, and I dont really understand why Ford didnt just add that wire in for all models, as it would have made things much easier when upgrading in the future.....

Cheers
Matti
your right.... where do i get this wire from??

Its doing like you said, and only illuminates when you push a button. does the data line run from the bem to instrument cluster, or from eec-v to bem to instrument cluster or from eec-v to instrument cluster??

Im starting to get "not happy jan!!"

Please help.....
Attached Images
File Type: jpg rhdash.jpg (35.3 KB, 122 views)

EL driver...
Futura97 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trip Computer Question!!!!!!!! 1LOWEA Interior | Electrical | ECU 2 05-22-03 12:39 AM
Problem with EL Trip computer russell Interior | Electrical | ECU 10 08-16-02 03:14 AM
How to wire up a trip computer to an ED? MightyEFGhia Interior | Electrical | ECU 3 08-12-02 06:49 AM
Trip Computer ebiisixa Interior | Electrical | ECU 3 08-10-02 06:48 AM
1988 EA Trip Computer Installation rdela Interior | Electrical | ECU 2 06-04-02 02:01 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome