Explorer seems to be stuck in 4X4 - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Trucks | Utes | Vans |SUVs | Crossovers > Ford Explorer | Ford Explorer Sport Trac | Mercury Mountaineer | Lincoln Aviator
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Ford Explorer | Ford Explorer Sport Trac | Mercury Mountaineer | Lincoln Aviator Forum for discussion of the Ford Explorer, Ford Explorer Sport Trac, Mercury Mountaineer and Lincoln Aviator.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2007, 14:09   #1 (permalink)

Explorer seems to be stuck in 4X4

Hey there guys, I'm new at this, thanks for any help!

My explorer sounds like its in constant 4X4 mode (whirrring sound) even when I have it switched to auto. I'm not much of a mechanic but I found a side road put it in neutral and pushed it and I noticed that both axles were turning.

If anyone has any ideas of where I could start to look for the cause of this problem or if anyone knows the cause of this it would be greatly aprreciated.

Thank you,

Adam
avansabben is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-28-2007, 17:26   #2 (permalink)

Re: Explorer seems to be stuck in 4X4

First off what year is your explorer? Mine was doing the same thing. I have a 91 and I had to change out the hubs on it.
Bossnutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 17:45   #3 (permalink)

Re: 1997 Explorer seems to be stuck in 4X4

thanks for the reply i'll check it it out. My explorer is a 1997.
avansabben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 12:30   #4 (permalink)

Hey Im parting out a 98 F explorer xlt if you need any partslet me know.