thumping brakes??? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Trucks | Utes | Vans |SUVs | Crossovers > Ford Explorer | Ford Explorer Sport Trac | Mercury Mountaineer | Lincoln Aviator
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Ford Explorer | Ford Explorer Sport Trac | Mercury Mountaineer | Lincoln Aviator Forum for discussion of the Ford Explorer, Ford Explorer Sport Trac, Mercury Mountaineer and Lincoln Aviator.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2007, 08:32   #1 (permalink)

thumping brakes???

Well guys, newbie here to the site and hoping you experts can lend a hand...(sorry it s alittle long but wanted to give a good discription).

Most of the time when my wife stops her '98 xplorer there is a thumping sound from under the passenger side - is doesnt happen all the time but about 90% and you can actually feel it through the floorboard. The noise is rotational, as in it occurs in time with the rototation of the tire. No noise while driving, only under light braking right before it comes to a stop?? It does groan a little bit when letting up on the brake pedal too. My head is sore from banging it on the wall trying to figure this out.