Trans sending unit - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Trucks | Utes | Vans |SUVs | Crossovers > Ford Explorer | Ford Explorer Sport Trac | Mercury Mountaineer | Lincoln Aviator
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Ford Explorer | Ford Explorer Sport Trac | Mercury Mountaineer | Lincoln Aviator Forum for discussion of the Ford Explorer, Ford Explorer Sport Trac, Mercury Mountaineer and Lincoln Aviator.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2009, 17:19   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Clif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
Question Trans sending unit

I am putting in a trans temp gauge and have been told there is a factory one in the trans oil pan. if so how can I access it, where is the wire to splice into. If in fact there is not one how can I tap into the computer to get the signal.
2004 explorer limited with 4x4 and 4.6 V8
AOL.com - Welcome to AOL.
__________________

Quote:
Natural Stupidity trumps Artificial Intelligence
Clif is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-08-2009, 19:11   #2 (permalink)
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 6,015
Re: Trans sending unit

Hi Clif, I had to modify your aol link, clicking on the link took me to a page, which exposed your aol login user name. Apparently you were logged in when you copied the link. I fixed it where it now goes to the AOL homepage.
jwko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 14:33   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
mralex714's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 20
Re: Trans sending unit

There is a temp sensor in the trans. But I think you can only access it through the OBD II port. When you check the fluid level you need to know the fluid temp to get the level correct. I wouldn't use it any way because it's used by the cars computers. BTW I looking at a kit from Summit racing with an external filter and temp gage.
mralex714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Trucks | Utes | Vans |SUVs | Crossovers > Ford Explorer | Ford Explorer Sport Trac | Mercury Mountaineer | Lincoln Aviator



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 18:43.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.