Ford Forums banner

Got my 4.0 wet

2K views 1 reply 2 participants last post by  85ltdcrownvic 
#1 ·
I've read the forum in the past but I'm new to join so I apologize in advance if this is miscategorized.

I was driving my '94 Ranger to a trailhead last weekend and hit a creek crossing too hard. Maybe a foot and a half deep, but water splashed pretty high. Immediately after leaving the water I heard like a gear stripping sound, I knew the danger so I shut it off right away. A guy who claimed to have been a mechanic was driving by and I explained my situation; he said he was more worried about my electricals (distributor) than my intake. Either way, I checked and dried that, the battery, and the intake and filter and drove it with almost no problems (but the occasional cough) for another 5 miles or so out of the hills, but it started coughing real bad when climbing the hills out to the main road. It got so bad I called a tow back to town before I could get to it. By this point, the check engine, check oil, and battery lights were all on. Probably didn't help that I was pretty low on gas but I know I had about 40-50 miles range left and I did check oil and coolant. The truck wasn't leaking noticeably, or more than usual.

I was able to start it in my driveway and pull engine codes. Still ran rough, bogging every now and then, but I got the following:
114: Air charge temp sensor voltage high or low (by the way, where is this located?)
10: Cylinder #1 has a problem
157: MAF fault, low voltage
543: fuel pump secondary circuit fault.

Battery voltage was steady above 12V when off and 15V or so when running.

A few days later (it's been raining a lot and I don't have a garage) I was able to go out and check again, and ran more tests after adding a gallon of 91 and some HEET (methanol additive?), my latest theory being that maybe water got in the fuel tank or lines. I pulled the plugs, which looked black but normal-ish.