2005 Esacpe Starting Issue - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Escape | C-MAX | Mercury Mariner Forum This forum is for discussion of the Ford Escape, C-MAX, the Ford Escape Hybrid and the Mercury Mariner.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-15-13, 09:14 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
2005 Esacpe Starting Issue

Hi,

This month I have had some problems with my 05 Escape starting. When I try to start it takes a lot longer to turn over and the speed and RPM needle on the gauges start to shake. After about 5 seconds they start working.
The gas gauge does not work at all until I drive around for awhile and the odometer resets itself every time. I thought it was a problem with my battery because it has been very cold but today it was much warmer and same problem. This only happens when the can has been off for at-least 8 hours, if the car has been running it will start up fine.

Sorry if my English is not great I am still learning.

Thank you

Obeck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-15-13, 09:22 AM
Moderators
 
R.S.LOGAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 14,690
Re: 2005 Esacpe Starting Issue

On the right trail with the battery .Seen similar with low battery on some other models , the instruments go into test mode . Might be worth testing battery or at least put on a charge and see if it cures fault . Or depending on age , replace .
R.S.LOGAN is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-17-13, 06:19 PM
canuck
 
360ci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 2,481
Re: 2005 Esacpe Starting Issue

2005 on the original battery = replace it. A $100 battery isn't worth getting stranded anywhere in the cold weather. After 8+hours the battery drains more and you lack the proper amperage to start the vehicle.

'11 Ram Quad Cab 4x4 SXT 5.7L HEMI (stock); 48,500m
'06 Pontiac G6 GT 3.5L 220hp; 64,000m
'12 Chrysler 200 Limited 3.6L 283hp; 28,000m
'99 Taurus 3.0L 2V Vulcan 145hp; 154,300m - Traded
Amsoil in all vehicles!
360ci is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-18-13, 09:27 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Re: 2005 Esacpe Starting Issue

Put a new one in yesterday and all is well! Its starting better than it has in along time! Thanks again guys I really appreciate the help!
Obeck is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-18-13, 09:31 AM
Moderators
 
R.S.LOGAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 14,690
Re: 2005 Esacpe Starting Issue

Good to hear , thanks for update .
R.S.LOGAN is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-03-15, 06:06 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 2
Re: 2005 Esacpe Starting Issue

I'm having a slightly different problem. 3.0 V6 after it stalls, the PRNDL will lose it's box, no communication with the PCM and the 5 volt reference on the TPS (brown/white) goe to 10 volts. after removing the key from the ignition, the gauges are still on, but dim. After the 5 volt reference goes below 7 volts, the Box returns and you can start the eng. The test I'm using is for no start no crank, but it has you check for a groun not short to voltage.
JSJtech is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-03-15, 06:02 PM
Dazed and Confused
 
CatSkinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 5,844
Re: 2005 Esacpe Starting Issue

Have you tried other reference signals to see if they're doing the same? That sounds like the power supply in the PCM is faulty.

http://www.revbase.com/BBBMotor/Wd/D...dPdf?id=111156

Ever notice that there's so many high performance parts available for GM products?

Did you ever think that maybe they NEED them?
CatSkinner is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-04-15, 07:11 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 2
Re: 2005 Esacpe Starting Issue

Well, after my apprentice and I finished playing, reverse and drive torque stall, to reproduce the concern, noticed the engine harness flex between the engine and firewall.
Grabbed the trunk of the harness and vigerously wiggled, to find that we stalled the engine, consistantly.
Found the PCM twin grounds loose on the firewall, causing loss of ground.
Reattached the ground leads firmly and retested our loose ground concern. no more stalling.
Somethings it's the simple things in life that get you.
JSJtech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Trucks | Utes | Vans |SUVs | Crossovers > Ford Escape | C-MAX | Mercury Mariner Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome