Does a throttle body change require a PCM re-program? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Escape | C-MAX | Mercury Mariner Forum This forum is for discussion of the Ford Escape, C-MAX, the Ford Escape Hybrid and the Mercury Mariner.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-19-13, 05:23 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 5
Does a throttle body change require a PCM re-program?

Hi all,

I posted about my throttle body issue in another thread - now that it is replaced, do I need to re-program the PCM?

My car did not want to start yesterday, I finally got it going to only to find out I had a bad battery.

Luckily, it was under warranty. When service noticed the new throttle body they asked if I had reprogrammed the PCM...

Thanks,
Teresa

Escape2009 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-19-13, 05:40 AM
Dazed and Confused
 
CatSkinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 5,661
Re: Does a throttle body change require a PCM re-program?

I don't see why the PCM would need to be re-programmed unless you went with something that wasn't stock, then it might need to be tuned. The throttle body might need adjusting, but has nothing to do with the programming of the PCM.

Chewing on asphalt and drinking dinosaur wine
CatSkinner is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-19-13, 05:53 AM
Moderators
 
R.S.LOGAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 14,316
Re: Does a throttle body change require a PCM re-program?

Might be advisable going by this bulletin ?

A Ford technical service bulletin for the 2006-2007 Explorer, 2004-2006 F150, as well as some other models describes a problem with hesitation, difficulty starting and low idle with the codes P0505 and/or P0506. Ford recommended reprogramming the ECM and replacing the electronic throttle body (ETB) if it fails the test as a solution.
R.S.LOGAN is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-19-13, 05:54 AM
Dazed and Confused
 
CatSkinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 5,661
Re: Does a throttle body change require a PCM re-program?

... ok, then there's that.

Chewing on asphalt and drinking dinosaur wine
CatSkinner is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-19-13, 10:28 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 5
Re: Does a throttle body change require a PCM re-program?

Thank you for the replies. I had the codes that my throttle body was getting stuck open/closed. I replaced it. The service technician said the problem is now the PCM is programmed to use the fuel in a manner that is consistent with the failed throttle body - not the new one.

As a side note, it's driving quite well since the new TB was installed.
Escape2009 is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-19-13, 10:29 AM
Moderators
 
R.S.LOGAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 14,316
Re: Does a throttle body change require a PCM re-program?

Good to hear , thanks for updating the forum .
R.S.LOGAN is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-01-13, 08:01 PM
Moderators
 
r-clar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Demotte Indiana
Posts: 1,960
Re: Does a throttle body change require a PCM re-program?

I know this is a few weeks old but unless there is specific documents to refashion a PCM. TSB, recall ,workshop manual instructions then no you don't have to. Changed many throttle bodies and only on those that had a reason to reflash PCM was it done. Ill be honest I think they took you for some extra money.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
r-clar is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-04-13, 07:35 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 372
Re: Does a throttle body change require a PCM re-program?

Ford Tech here a bit late but will be archived. When changing to a new etb, disconnect battery for 10 min, replace throttle body, reconnect battery etb will sweep. Turn key on let sit 10-15 sec start car and let idle for another 5-10min AFTER it has warmed up. No accessories on i.e. headlamps,rear defrost, radio, havac, and etc... Fords will learn idle trim, gm's you need the scan tool. Another reason to love Fords!

Check out all my Ford Tech Repair Videos @
http://www.youtube.com/user/FordTechMakuloco
Please Subscribe. Always something new and interesting!
makuloco2000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Trucks | Utes | Vans |SUVs | Crossovers > Ford Escape | C-MAX | Mercury Mariner Forum
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome