Help with front bank upstream O2 sensor - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Trucks | Utes | Vans |SUVs | Crossovers > Ford Escape | C-MAX | Mercury Mariner Forum
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Ford Escape | C-MAX | Mercury Mariner Forum This forum is for discussion of the Ford Escape, C-MAX, the Ford Escape Hybrid and the Mercury Mariner.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2012, 15:25   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: KC
Posts: 13
Help with front bank upstream O2 sensor

I replaced 3 of the 4 O2 sensors and tried working on the front bank, upstream sensor today. It is so tight in there, that I could barely get the socket up in there with a wrench on it. I had to resort to an adjustable socket wrench with the head turned to a pretty sharp angle which was putting alot of incorrect stress on the sensor when I turned it. It didn't budge, and I was worried that putting anymore torque on it would bust it off. I tried working from underneath the vehicle and also down through the top, but nothing worked.
Any suggestions on getting this thing out?
dborns is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-27-2012, 18:11   #2 (permalink)
Dazed and Confused
 
CatSkinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 3,869
Re: Help with front bank upstream O2 sensor

They make a socket specifically for the O2 sensor, but why are you replacing all 4?
__________________
'Scuse me, while I scrape this Honda outta my treads.
CatSkinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 06:06   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: KC
Posts: 13
Re: Help with front bank upstream O2 sensor

I have the socket and can get it onto the sensor along with a wrench, but theres not enough room to turn the wrench. I tried one of the wrench's that have an adjustable-angle head, but it has to be at such a severe angle that its putting torque on the sensor that isn't correct. I felt like I was about to bust the sensor.
The reason I'm changing all four of them is because I had one that went bad and when I talked to my mechanic, he suggested I do the rest. He said they get pretty dirty and if one has gone bad the others may not be far behind. He also mentioned they should be replaced because your gas mileage and efficiency suffers. The ones that I did get out were pretty black.
dborns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 19:04   #4 (permalink)
Dazed and Confused
 
CatSkinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 3,869
Re: Help with front bank upstream O2 sensor

I've heard both theories on that, the one you received which bears merit, and the old "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" which is not always right, but can also have merit. I've had 2 Grand Prix's and have had to replace one sensor on each, of course it was the one by the firewall (the other 2 are a breeze to get to). You might have to electrically disconnect it and drop the manifold so that you can get on it. That might not be easy, either, under the assumption that you have at least 80000 miles on the car, exhaust bolts don't break away very easily.

Best penetrant that I've ever used is Kroil by Kano. If you can find it, soak it well several times, then try it. Heat also may help if you have acetylene, but if you've all ready used a penetrant, degrease it first. Not sure exactly where it's located, but if you remove the radiator, can you get a better hold on it?
__________________
'Scuse me, while I scrape this Honda outta my treads.
CatSkinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 09:41   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: KC
Posts: 13
Re: Help with front bank upstream O2 sensor

Yeah, I was thinking that the only way to get a good angle on it would be to remove the grill and radiator, which would be a huge PITA.

All of the sudden the check engine light came on again yesterday and the code is showing the rear bank, upstream sensor which is only a few weeks old...
I don't know why that would be throwing a code all of a sudden.
dborns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 09:54   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: gawga
Posts: 122
Re: Help with front bank upstream O2 sensor

I think the radiator can be removed without touching the grill. It would be a lot safer, at least mentally, to have the radiator target removed from the range of all the wrenching. I have punched a hole accidentally while trying to loosen a rusty fastener, and it was not pretty. Cost a bit to get fixed, so if there is any chance, I'll take the time. Doing timing belt on a Ranger 2.3, it was nice to have the radiator out, lots more room.
Re the O2 sensor message, I'd be checking that the wires are connected tightly and haven't disconnected or landed on a hot exhaust pipe and melted. It's unlikely you could have failed sensors that quickly.
tom
tomw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 14:55   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: KC
Posts: 13
Re: Help with front bank upstream O2 sensor

I'm wondering if it isn't the electrical connection. I noticed when I connected them the first time, that I didn't get a "click" as I would if they locked together. Also today, when I disconnected it again, I didn't have to touch the locking tab on the female end to get it apart. There seems to be a little play in the connection, and if I pull on it enough, it slips right out.
I'm wondering if theres a defect in the new part or maybe that locking tab broke off when I took out the old one.
dborns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 18:18   #8 (permalink)
Dazed and Confused
 
CatSkinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 3,869
Re: Help with front bank upstream O2 sensor

They should firmly lock. If the connector coming from the computer is faulty, you can get pigtails to replace them.
__________________
'Scuse me, while I scrape this Honda outta my treads.
CatSkinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 12:37   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: KC
Posts: 13
Re: Help with front bank upstream O2 sensor

I just took a look at it and the tab must have broken off of the female connection from the computer. There is a place on the male end of the sensor wire where the tab should lock in, but its missing on the other connector. I was able to get a pair of pliers down in there and get it tightly connected, but I'll have to drive it a little to see if that helped.
dborns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 09:29   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: KC
Posts: 13
Re: Help with front bank upstream O2 sensor

After some more research, I found that I made a mistake on which sensor I thought I was having issues with. The code I'm getting now is a heater circuit malfunction for the front, (closest to the grille), upstream sensor. This is the only one out of four that I didn't change out because it was such a PITA to get to and I can't get a wrench up there to get it out. I may have damaged the wiring while trying to do so. I have a new sensor on hand, but no way to remove the old one without removing the radiator. I'm going to look to see if Craftsman makes a "stubby" 3/8" socket wrench, and maybe I can get that on there and have enough room to turn it.
dborns is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Trucks | Utes | Vans |SUVs | Crossovers > Ford Escape | C-MAX | Mercury Mariner Forum



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:54.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.